Home » Cricket » News »DRS 'cheating' row: Steve Smith admits mistake, says he had 'brain fade'

DRS 'cheating' row: Steve Smith admits mistake, says he had 'brain fade'

Posted By:

Bengaluru, March 7: Australian captain Steve Smith today (March 7) said he had a "brain fade" in trying to seek help from the dressing room to use the Decision Review System (DRS) during the 2nd Test against India.

India beat Aus by 75 runs; Photos; Schedule; Scorecard

Smith was branded as a "cheat" as he tried to seek help from his team-mates in the dressing room after being given out LBW to Umesh Yadav on the 4th day.

File photo: Steve Smith

The Australian skipper was clearly breaking the rules and playing against the spirit of the game in looking towards the dressing room to use a review against umpire Nigel Llong's decision.

India defeated Australia by 75 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium to level the 4-match series 1-1. However, there were plenty of talking points with Smith's DRS incident topping the list.

"Obviously got hit on the pad and looked down to PD (Peter Handscomb, the non-striker) and PD sort of said look up there and said turn around and what do you reckon.

"It was a brain fade on my behalf. I should not have done that," Smith said in the post-match press conference.

"I was looking at our boys. I should not have done that. First time it has happened and as I said it was a brain fade on my behalf," Smith added.

Smith's reaction towards the dressing room was quickly spotted by Llong and he told him that he can't do it.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli was upset with Smith and he intervened to tell the umpire that the Australian was wrong.

With no other option left, Smith walked off the pitch, out for 28. Australia were bowled out for 112, failing to chase 188. Ravichandran Ashwin was the bowling star for India with figures of 6/41.

Later in the press conference, Kohli slammed the Australians for repeatedly trying to use outside help to use DRS.

Kohli said the Australians were breaking rules and he had brought that to the notice of the on-field umpires and the match referee.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, March 7, 2017, 16:50 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 7, 2017
Please Wait while comments are loading...