Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Deodhar Trophy: Manoj Tiwary ton in vain as Karnataka gain narrow win over India B

By Pti
Mayank Agarwal of Karnataka supported Samarth with a 44-run knock

Dharamsala, March 5: Karnataka pulled off a narrow six-run victory over India 'B' to start their campaign in the Deodhar Trophy cricket tournament on a positive note here on Monday (March 5).

Batting first after winning the toss, Karnataka notched a challenging 296 for eight in the allotted 50 overs.

Ravikumar Samarth top-scored for Karnataka with a brisk 117 off 115 balls as the Vijay Hazare Trophy winners closed in on 300 at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Stadium.

Manoj Tiwary slammed a breezy century (120 off 110 balls) and anchored India 'B' chase, but his dismissal in the 42nd over triggered a collapse that saw the team stop at 290 for nine in 50 overs.

India 'B' were reduced to 23 for three in the seventh over and then 108 for four, but a century partnership between Bengal skipper Tiwary and Mumbai's Siddhesh Lad (70 off 78 balls) brought the team back into the game.

However, India 'B' lost their way after Tiwary was sent back by leg-spinner Shreyas Gopal, and even Lad could not help his team cross the line.

Tiwary's knock was laced with 10 boundaries and four sixes, while Lad found the fence six times.

Gopal was the most successful bowler for Karnataka, returning figures of 3/29, while off-spinner Krishnappa Gowtham took the wicket of Lad at a crucial juncture.

M Prasidh Krishna picked up two wickets, including that of Hanuma Vihari, whose 76-ball 95 guided India 'B' to an eight-wicket win over India 'A' in the tournament's opening match on Sunday.

Earlier, Samarth's knock was the pivot around which the Karnataka innings revolved. He hit 13 boundaries and a six.

In-form opener Mayank Agarwal smashed 44 off 40 balls, but skipper Karun Nair missed out after getting out for 10.

Brief scores:

Karnataka 296/8 in 50 overs (R Samarth 117, Pavan Deshpande 46, Mayank Agarwal 44; Siddharth Kaul 3/49) bt India B 290/9 in 50 overs (Manoj Tiwary 120, Siddhesh Lad 70; Shreyas Gopal 3/29)

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Monday, March 5, 2018, 22:22 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 5, 2018
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more