Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Most Valuable Player in IPL 2022 | Most Valuable Players in IPL: Buttler latest to win crown

Jos Buttler is the leader in the IPL 2022 Most Valuable Player (MVP) list

Bengaluru, May 29: Rajasthan Royals star opener Jos Buttler was awarded the most valuable player (MVP) award in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

Gujarat Titans' title-winning skipper Hardik Pandya finished second followed by Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell and RR pacer Prasidh Krishna in third and fouth spots respectively.

The MVP was introduced in the Indian Premier League from the 2013 season and prior to that a player of the tournament award was given to the best player of IPL from 2008 to 2012.

The Most Valuable Player in IPL is ranked based on special rating system, which rewards players points for every four, six, wicket, dot ball, catches, run outs and stumpings.

For every four, a player earns 2.5 points, for a six - 3.5 points, for a wicket - 3.5 points, for a dot ball - 1 point and for every catch or stumping 2.5 points.

Most Man of The Match in IPL | Most Man of The Match in IPL History: From De Villiers to Chahal – Top 50 listMost Man of The Match in IPL | Most Man of The Match in IPL History: From De Villiers to Chahal – Top 50 list

All the points earned from the matches over the season are totalled together with top player earning the MVP trophy after the IPL Final. Royals opener Buttler retained the lead right from start ot the season and went on to clinch the award thanks to his spectacular season with the bat.

Here is a look at the Most Valuable Player leaderboard in IPL 2022 after the final on May 29:

Position Player (Team) Matches Points
1 Jos Buttler (RR) 17 387.5
2 Hardik Pandya (GT) 15 284.5
3 Andre Russell (KKR) 14 281.0
4 Prasidh Krishna (RR) 17 273.0
5 Liam Livingstone (PBKS) 14 265.5
6 Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) 16 258.0
7 Mohammed Shami (GT) 15 252.5
8 Rashid Khan (GT) 16 250.0
9 Trent Boult (RR) 16 245.5
10 Sanju Samson (RR) 17 244.5

As mentioned earlier, the player of the tournament (IPL man of the series) award was changed to IPL MVP by the organizers in 2013 and so far there have been 12 different players that have won the award in the 15 seasons so far with three players winning the award twice.

Shane Watson, Andre Russell and Sunil Narine have won the IPL MVP award 2 times

Former Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals star Shane Watson, who won the first ever MVP award in 2013 and the first ever Man of the Series award in 2008, has won the award twice.

KKR duo Russell (2015 and 2019) and Sunil Narine (2012 and 2018) have also won the IPL MVP or IPL Man of the Series award 2 times.

Here is the list for the MVP or Man of the Series in IPL from 2008 to 2022:

Year Player Team
2008 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals
2009 Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers
2010 Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians
2011 Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders
2013 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals
2014 Glenn Maxwell Punjab Kings
2015 Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders
2016 Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Ben Stokes Rising Pune Supergiant
2018 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders
2019 Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders
2020 Jofra Archer Rajasthan Royals
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore
2022 Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Friday, May 20, 2022, 17:21 [IST]
Other articles published on May 20, 2022