Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Shai Hope returns as West Indies announce squad for Test series against South Africa

Shai Hope

St John's, June 5: The Cricket West Indies (CWI) selection panel on Friday (June 4) named a provisional 17-man squad for the upcoming Test Series against South Africa. The squad is expected to be further cut down to an official 13-members on Monday (June 7).

"The selectors have also revealed that four (4) other young fast bowlers Keon Harding, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley and Nial Smith will remain in St Lucia to assist the Test squad with their preparations," the CWI said in a statement.

It will be the South Africa's first bilateral tour to the Caribbean since 2010, followed by a tri-series in 2016 that also featured Australia. The tour, which had to be rescheduled from 2020, will include two Test matches and five T20s, from June 10 to July 3 this year in St Lucia at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground and Grenada at the National Cricket Stadium, respectively.

In their last bilateral encounter in the Windies in 2010, South Africa won the three-match Test series 2-0 (the second match was a draw) and produced a white-ball sweep, winning the T20 and ODI series 2-0 and 5-0 respectively.

West Indies squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jahmar Hamilton, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Jomel Warrican.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Saturday, June 5, 2021, 9:37 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 5, 2021