Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Shane Warne picks all-time India XI: Sourav Ganguly to lead, omits VVS Laxman

Shane Warne picks all-time India XI: Sourav Ganguly to lead

New Delhi, April 1: Australia spin legend Shane Warne on Wednesday (April 1) included Navjot Singh Sidhu in his all-time Indian XI he played against and picked Sourav Ganguly as the captain of the team. Warne took to Instagram to name this side and picked all the players against whom he had played during his career.

"I had to pick Navjot Singh Sidhu because he was the best player against spin I have ever played against. All the other spinners I have played with, they have also told me that Sidhu was brilliant against them," Warne said while naming the side on Instagram Live. Sidhu played 51 Tests and 136 ODIs for India in which he scored 3,202 and 4,413 runs respectively.

The legendary leg-spinner picked Virender Sehwag and Sidhu as openers, followed by Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Azharuddin and Ganguly.

Warne, who has more than 700 Test wickets and 1000 international wickets to his credit, named Nayan Mongia as the wicket-keeper of the team. Warne's team also included 1983 World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev, ace spinners Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble and pacer Javagal Srinath.

"I am only picking players that I played against and that's why M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli are not going to be a part of the side. While Dhoni is probably the greatest wicketkeeper-batsman to have played the game, Kohli is one of the greatest batsmen across formats," said Warne.

The most notable omission in Warne's Indian side was VVS Laxman because he was called to be the nemesis for Australia.

"I went for Ganguly because I wanted him to be the captain of my side, that is why Laxman missed out," the former Australian leg-spinner said.

Warne's all-time India XI: Virender Sehwag, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sourav Ganguly (captain), Kapil Dev, Nayan Mongia (wicketkeeper), Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Anil Kumble.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Wednesday, April 1, 2020, 15:21 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 1, 2020
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more