Team India leaves for 'Lankan' test

Chennai, Jul 15: A 16-member Indian team led by captain Anil Kumble left here for Colombo by a Jet Airways flight this afternoon to take part in the three Test and five match ODI series against Sri Lanka from July 23 to August 29.

India had last toured Lanka for a Test series in 2001 when the hosts won the three match contest 2-1, it may be recalled.The 16-member squad had assembled here yesterday as the team wanted to leave via Chennai. The team had about four hours of intense practise session for fielding, bowling and batting. Following is the team: Anil Kumble (capt), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, V V S Laxman, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, (wicket keeper), Parthiv Patel (wk), Harbhajan Singh, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, R P Singh, Munaf Patel and Pragyan Ojha.

Following is the itinerary: July 23 to 27 : First Test, Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo.

July 31 to Aug 4 : Second Test, Galle International Stadium.

August 8 to 12 : Third Test, P Saravanamuttu Stadium, Colombo.

August 18 : First ODI, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium August 20 : Second ODI, Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium August 24 : Third ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

August 26 : Fourth ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

August 29 : Fifth ODI, Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.


Story first published: Tuesday, July 15, 2008, 13:04 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 15, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...