Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Women’s Asia Cup Winners: The List of Champions and Runners Up from 2004 to 2022

Indian team dominate the list for most Womens Asia Cup titles (Image:@BCCIWomen Twitter)

The Women's Asia Cup, established in 2004 and organized by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC), is being held two years once in either ODI or T20 format.

The tournament, which being contested by teams in Asia, is the only continental championship in women's cricket and the second multi-team tournament after the World Cup.

As it stands, there has been eight editions of the Women's Asia Cup with first four editions contested in 50-over format and the next four since 2012 been held in T20 format.

In the inaugural edition in 2004, India and Sri Lanka played a 5-match series to decide the Asian champions, while Pakistan joined them in the second edition in 2005-06 to make it a three-team tournament, which saw the three teams battle in double round-robin format to decide the finalists.

The 2006 edition was also played like the 2005-06 edition with three teams and in the next edition in 2008, Bangladesh joined the three to expand the tournament, which grew bigger with the addition of four more teams.

However, the next three editions saw the tournament being contested by just six teams. So far nine teams, have played in the Women's Asia Cup, but the first few editions was contested by just two or three teams.

India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Thailand, China, Hong Kong, Nepal and Malaysia have competed at the Women's Asia Cup, but only two teams have gone on to lift the trophy so far.

In the eight editions of Women's Asia Cup, India has been the most dominant team, having won the title seven times and finishing runners up once.

The second best team is Bangladesh, who have won the Women's Asia Cup one time, while Sri Lanka and Pakistan have finished as runners 5 and 2 times respectively.

Here is a look at the Women's Asia Cup winners list from 2004 to 2022:

Year Champion Result Runner Up Format
2022 India Won by 8 wickets Sri Lanka T20
2018 Bangladesh Won by 3 wickets India T20
2016 India Won by 17 runs Pakistan T20
2012 India Won by 18 runs Pakistan T20
2008 India Won by 177 runs Sri Lanka ODI
2006 India Won by 8 wicket Sri Lanka ODI
2005-06 India Won by 97 runs Sri Lanka ODI
2004 India Won tournament 5-0 Sri Lanka ODI
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Saturday, October 15, 2022, 20:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 15, 2022