Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Women's IPL Winners List: Full List of Women's T20 Challenge Winners and Runners Up Year Wise

Womens T20 Challenge Trophy (Image Courtesy: IPL Twitter)

The Women's IPL or the Women's T20 Challenge is a tournament organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and is being held every year since 2018 except for 2021, when it was cancelled due to the COVID pandemic.

Started in parallel with the IPL in 2018, the Women's T20 Challenge is expected to evolve and expand into a bigger league with more players and teams, at least six, competing for the trophy.

As it stands, the Women's IPL is being contested by three teams - Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity, but in the inaugural edition in 2018, a single match was held in Mumbai between Supernovas and Trailblazers prior to men's IPL Qualifier 1 match.

Since the 2019 edition, the Women's T20 Challenge grew to a three team tournament, featuring four matches instead of a one-off match, with the addition of new team named Velocity competing along with the Trailblazers and Supernovas.

The tournament saw the three teams face off in a round-robin format with the top two teams progressing to the final. The first two editions were held in India, while the 2020 edition was moved to the UAE due to the COVID pandemic and the matches were held at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

The captains of 2019 Womens T20 Challenge

In the four editions held so far, Supernovas led by Harmanpreet Kaur are the most successful team having won the title three times followed by Smriti Mandhana-led Trailblazers, who have won the Women's T20 Challenge one time.

Supernovas have also appeared in all three finals so far with Trailblazers making it to the summit clash twice, while Velocity led by Mithali Raj reached the finals in the 2019 edition.

In the 2018 edition, Supernovas defeated Trailblazers by 7 wickets to clinch the inaugural title and in 2019, the Supernovas defeated Velocity by 4 wickets to win their second title.

In 2020 edition, Trailblazers won their first ever title by defeating then holders Supernovas by 16 runs in the summit clash. In the 2022 edition, Supernovas held their nerve to clinch the title for the third time following a 4 run victory over Velocity.

Here is the Women's IPL or Women's T20 Challenge winners and runners up list from 2018 to 2022:

Season Winners Runners Up
2018 Supernovas Trailblazers
2019 Supernovas Velocity
2020 Trailblazers Supernovas
2022 Supernovas Velocity
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Saturday, May 28, 2022, 23:11 [IST]
Other articles published on May 28, 2022