Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Asia Cup Men's Hockey Winners List: Full list of Champions and Runners Up from 1982 to 2022

India, the 2017 Asia Cup Hockey champions

Bengaluru, June 1: Asia Cup Hockey, the continental hockey tournament hosted by Asian Hockey Federation, is being held since 1982 with the winner being crowned the champion and the top three also earning spots in the Hockey World Cup.

The Men's Hockey Asia Cup has been held 11 times now with as many 16 teams competing and three different teams winning the title so far. Plus, only four different teams have played the finals in the 11 editions.

While the 10 editions held so far have had the knock out stages to crown the champions, the first edition in 1982 was decided based on the results from the round robin format featuring 7 teams.

In 1982, the inaugural edition held in Karachi, the Men's Hockey Asia Cup champion was crowned based on most number of wins in the round robin format with Pakistan edging India 6 wins to 5.

South Korea are the most successful team in the tournament having won the title 5 times followed by rivals India and Pakistan, who have both won the title 3 times each.

South Korea were champions in 1994, 1999, 2009, 2013 and 2022, while India won in 2003, 2007 and 2017 and their arch-rivals Pakistan won the first three editions of the title in 1982, 1985 and 1989.

India is also the most consistent side in the Asia Cup Hockey as they have played in 8 of the 11 finals being held so far, while Pakistan (6 finals) are level with South Korea, who have been involved in 6 finals, but the Koreans have won 5 finals.

Here is a look at the winners and runners up list of Asia Cup Hockey:

Year Host City Winner Result Runner Up
1982 Karachi, Pakistan Pakistan Round Robin India
1985 Dhaka, Bangladesh Pakistan 3-2 India
1989 New Delhi, India Pakistan 2-0 India
1994 Hiroshima, Japan South Korea 1-0 India
1999 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia South Korea 5-4 Pakistan
2003 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia India 4-2 Pakistan
2007 Chennai India 7-2 South Korea
2009 Kuantan, Malaysia South Korea 1-0 Pakistan
2013 Ipoh, Malaysia South Korea 4-3 India
2017 Dhaka, Bangladesh India 2-1 Malaysia
2022 Jakarta, Indonesia South Korea 2-1 Malaysia
South Korea has won the Asia Cup Hockey five times

Third place also is important in the Men's Hockey Asia Cup as it guarantees a team a place in the Hockey World Cup if they have not already qualified for the show-piece event.

While India, South Korea and Pakistan have won the title multiple times, the trio have also clinched the third-place many times. South Korea and Pakistan have won the bronze medal three times.

India and China have won the bronze medal 2 times, while Malaysia (1 time) have also finished the tournament as the third-placed team.

Here is a look at the Third Place and Fourth Place teams of Asia Cup Hockey:

Year Third Place Result Fourth Place
1982 China Round Robin Results Malaysia
1985 South Korea 2-0 Japan
1989 South Korea 1-0 Japan
1994 Pakistan 5-2 Malaysia
1999 India 4-2 Malaysia
2003 South Korea 4-2 Japan
2007 Malaysia 5-3 Japan
2009 China 3-3 AET (7-6 penalties) Malaysia
2013 Pakistan 3-1 Malaysia
2017 Pakistan 6-3 South Korea
2022 India 1-0 Japan
For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Thursday, May 19, 2022, 19:46 [IST]
Other articles published on May 19, 2022