Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Indian shooters Jitu Rai, Gagan Narang, Heena Sidhu eye glory at World Cup

By Ians

New Delhi, Jan 30: Incheon Asian Games gold medallist Jitu Rai, London Olympics bronze medallist Gagan Narang and female shooter Heena Sidhu are among the top names in the India squad for the upcoming World Cup, starting here on February 22.

Jitu, the Glasgow Commonwealth Games gold medal winner will take part in both his pet 10 metre and 50m Pistol events while Narang will be gunning for the gold in the 50m Rifle Prone event.

Indian shooters Jitu Rai, Gagan Narang, Heena Sidhu eye glory at World Cup

Veteran marksman Chain Singh will be seen in action in the 50m Rifle 3 position as well as 50m Rifle Prone event.

Among others in 50m Rifle 3 position are Sanjeev Rajut and Satyendra Singh while Sushil Ghaley is the third shooter in the 50m Rifle Prone team also comprising Narang and Chain.

In the 10m Rifle event, Ravi Kumar, Deepak Kumar and Satyendra Singh will be seen in action while Jitu's team members in 10m Pistol include Omkar Singh and Amanpreet Singh.

In 25m Rapid Fire Pistol, Gurpreet Singh, Harpreet Singh and Neeraj Kumar will form the team.

In 50m Pistol, Jitu will have the company of Amanpreet Singh and Gurpal Singh while Heena will spearhead the women's team in 10m Pistol event, also comprising Priyanka Gajendra Susrivikar and Harveen Sarao.

In women's 10m Rifle, Vinita Bhardwaj will be accompanied by Meghna Sajjanar and Pooja Pandharinath Ghatkar while in 50m Rifle 3 position Anjum Moudgil, Tejaswini R. Sawant and Elizabeth Susan Koshy will form a formidable combo.

In women's 25m Pistol event, seasoned campaigner Rahi Sarnobat will lead the team also comprising Surabhi Pathak and Muskan.

Olympian Kynan Chenai will head the side in men's Trap competition along side Zoravar Sandhu and Biren Sodhi while the men's double trap team comprises Ankur Mittal, Shapath Bharadwaj and Sangram Dahiya.

In men's Skeet competition, there will be Mairaz Khan, Sheeraz Sheikh, Angadvir S. Bajwa and A.S. Cheem whereas in women's Trap competition Maneesha Keer, Seema Tomer and Rajeshwari Kumari will battle for the gold.

Sanya Sheikh, Rashmee Rathore and Arti S. Rao will be India's representatives in women's Skeet category.


For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Monday, January 30, 2017, 16:36 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 30, 2017