Home » More Sports » 'New' Bangladesh team gears up for New Zealand series

'New' Bangladesh team gears up for New Zealand series

Dhaka, Sep 23 (UNI) With an entirely new look, the Bangladesh cricket team has started training for the forthcoming home series against New Zealand, starting from October 9 under the guidance of coach Jamie Siddons.

A week after 13 players left the team to play in the rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL) representing the 'Dhaka Warriors', the Bangladesh team was looking forward for its home series and has started practising at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) had announced names of 30 probables on Sunday. Out of them, 17 players were reported to the coach and they also took part in the first day's practice session yesterday.

However, five players - Imrul Kayes, Shamsur Rahman, Naeem Islam, Sohrawordi Shuvo and Mahbubul Alam - were unable to report as they were presently touring Sri Lanka with GrammenPhone- BCB Academy team.

Rajin Saleh and Enamul Haque (Jr) also could not arrive for the matches as no flights were available from Sylhet to Dhaka. The two are expected to join the squad tomorrow.

The New Zealand team will arrive here on September 30 for a month-long tour in Bangladesh.

The Kiwis will play a warm up match on October 7.

The first two One-dayers will be played in Dhaka at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on October 9 and 11, before the visitors head off to the port city of Chittagong for the third and final match, to be played at Bir Shreshtha Shaheed Ruhul Amin Stadium on October 14.

The first Test match between the two teams will be held in Chittagong at Bir Shreshtha Shaheed Ruhul Amin Stadium from October 17 to 21, while the second final Test will take place at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium from October 25 to 29.

Bangladesh preliminary squad: Mohammad Ashraful, Mashrafe Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddique, Roqibul Hassan, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehrab Hossain (Jr), Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel, Nazmul Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Dollar Mahmud, Nafees Iqbal, Rajin Saleh, Tushar Imran, Enamul Haque (Jr), Imrul Kayes, Shamsur Rahman, Naeem Islam, Sohrawordi Shuvo, Mahbubul Alam and Sahagir Hossain (Wicket keeper).


Story first published: Tuesday, September 23, 2008, 15:11 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 23, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...