Prabhjot shortlisted for FIH's Player of the Year

New Delhi, Dec 3: Versatile left winger Prabhjot Singh is among the eight players shortlisted by the International Hockey Federation (FIH) for the 2007 Men's World Hockey Player of year award.

The 26-year-old Batla born Prabjhot, who has had a chequred carrer since 2004 Athens olympics, shot into prominance with some steller performances at Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at Ipoh, Malaysia, Champions Challenge at Boom, Belgium and the Asia Cup at Chennai this year. At all these tournament, India had a podium finish with the golden lining at Chennai.

The award instituted by the FIH eight years ago has still to see an Indian winner even though Dilip Tirkey and Dhanraj pillay have been nominated in the past.

However, no Indian figures in the probables for the World Hockey Young Player of the Year award.

Last year, Teun de Nooijer (Nederland) and Christopher Zeller (German) won the World Hockey Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year title.

Intrestingly, de Nooijer has again in the running for this year's award.

Apart from Prabjhot, other players in contention for the award are Jamie Dwyer (Australia) Dilawar Hussein (Pakistan) Teun de Nooijer, Rob Reckers (Nederland), Jong Ho Seo (Korea) Eduard Tubau (Espanyol) Matthias Witthaus (German).

For the Young players award the nominees are: Sergi Enrique (Espanyol)Moritz Furste (German) Robert van der Horst (Nederland) Mark Knowles (Australia) Lucas Vila (Argentina).

All players participating in the on-going Champions Trophy in Kuala Lumpur will have their chance to vote for the best hockey players of the year. However India is not taking part in this tournament as they failed to qualify for it.

The awarding ceremony for both the Women's and Men's Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year will take place on December 8 in Kuala Lumpur.


Story first published: Monday, December 3, 2007, 18:24 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 3, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...