Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Dakar Rally 2020: Sainz wins third title, Al Attiyah finishes second

Carlos Sainz

Bengaluru, January 17: Qatar's defending champion Nasser Saleh Al Attiyah saved his best for the last and won the final stage of the Dakar Rally 2020 in Saudi Arabia, but it came too late as veteran Spanish driver Carlos Sainz won the rally for the third time.

The 57-year-old, who had previously won Dakar in 2010 and 2018, led from stage 3 and crossed the finish line in Qiddiya 6min, 21sec ahead of nearest challenger Al Attiyah, who had managed to cut Sainz's lead to just 24sec on stage 9, but fell back after navigation mistakes in stage 10.

Sainz's MINI team-mate and rally legend Stephane Peterhansel ended up third at 9min, 58sec behind.

Dakar Rally 2020: Peterhansel wins stage 11, Sainz leads, Al Attiyah second

Both the Frenchman and Sainz won four stages each in the marathon 12-day, 7,800 kms race which was overshadowed by the tragic death of Portuguese bike driver Paulo Goncalves on stage 6.

Dakar Rally tragedy as Portuguese rider Paulo Goncalves dies

All class

All class

MINI driver Sainz, was in a class of his own throughout the 12-day rally, which was being held in a Middle East country for the first time.

Having bagged four stage wins over the course of the marathon, Sainz and co-driver Lucas Cruz arrived into the final day of competition with a 10-minute buffer over Al Attiyah and Peterhansel.

Al Attiyah to fight back

Al Attiyah to fight back

Though he missed out on victory, Al Attiyah got his sixth podium in the last seven editions by beating Peterhansel to the runner-up spot. A crucial navigational error during the second half of the rally cost defending champions Al Attiyah and French co-driver Matthieu Baumel dear. Though, the three-time champion rued the mistakes, he vowed to come back strongly next year.

"I'm quite happy, we did a good job to finish second even though we wanted to win. We made two or three mistakes along the way and had loads of punctures, but I'm rather happy. I'm elated that we're racing here. I'm coming back to win next year. I just needed a bit more luck," the Toyota driver said.

Peterhansel third

Peterhansel third

Peterhansel, who has won the Dakar a record 13 times -- seven on four wheels and six on two -- did his best and had to be content with a third place, which was his 17th podium of an illustrious career.

Behind Peterhansel, local driver Yazeed Al Rajhi took his best Dakar finish in fourth place in his Overdrive Toyota while Al Attiyah's Toyota Gazoo Racing colleague Giniel de Villiers of South Africa finished fifth.

Alonso 13th

Alonso 13th

The surprise package was two-time Formula One champion Fernando Alonso, who passed the final stage 3min, 25sec slower than Al Attiyah, good enough for fourth-fastest on the day for an overall 13th-place finish.

The Spaniard also finished as top rookie on his debut with compatriot co-driver Marc Coma sitting alongside, despite several early delays and a roll in the dunes in the second half of the rally.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Story first published: Friday, January 17, 2020, 16:23 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 17, 2020
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more