Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

National Motorcycle Racing Championship: Double delight for KY Ahamed and Prabhu Arunagiri

KY Ahamed

Bengaluru, September 11: KY Ahamed and Prabhu Arunagiri notched a double apiece while Rohan Ramesh (Axor Sparks Racing) and Lani Zena Fernandez (RACR Castrol Power1) scored contrasting victories as the fourth round of the MRF Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC) FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2022 concluded at the Madras International Circuit, in Sriperumbudur, near Chennai.

Ahamed, winner of Race-1 led a 1-2 finish for Petronas TVS Racing in the Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open category while Arunagiri (Pacer Yamaha) ground out a thrilling win, his second of the weekend, in the Pro-Stock 165cc Open class.

Rohan (Axor Sparks Racing) emerged unscathed from a bunch of half-a-dozen riders to take the honours in the Novice (Stock 165cc) race after Lani Zena (RACR Castrol Power1) topped the Girls (Stock 165cc) outing for her maiden win of the season.

National Motorcycle Racing Championship: Bengaluru schoolboy Shreyas Hareesh notches first win in Novice classNational Motorcycle Racing Championship: Bengaluru schoolboy Shreyas Hareesh notches first win in Novice class

As per a media release, the fifth and final round of the championship will be held from September 30 to October 2 at the MIC.

Brilliant victory

Brilliant victory

In the Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open race, pole-sitter Ahamed missed a gear as the lights went out and slipped to second behind team-mate Deepak Ravikumar. The two battled all the way until Ahamed passed Ravikumar on the last lap and defended his position for a brilliant victory.

Behind the lead pair, defending champion Rajini Krishnan, starting from P7, crashed in the first lap, but picked himself up to come in third while posting the fastest lap of the race in the process. The third place finish took Rajini's tally to 161 after four rounds followed by Ahamed (126 points) and Ravikumar (125).



Arunagiri too had to work hard for his second win of the weekend in the Pro-Stock 165cc Open category. The eight-lapper went down to the wire as Arunagiri fought off a strong challenge from the Petronas TVS Racing pair of Ahamed and Jagan Kumar, and Rajiv Sethu (Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing), besides team-mate and early leader Mathana Kumar.

Arunagiri kept his wits about to pull off a merited win with Sethu and Ahamed close on his heels. Mathana, though finishing fifth, kept his lead in the points table with a tally of 126, ahead of Sethu (109) and Arunagiri (104).

Lani impresses

Lani impresses

Earlier, starting from pole position, Lani Zena Fernandez battled with Mumbai's Jagruti Penkar (Axor Sparks Racing) all through the five laps as the two exchanged lead.

In the last lap, Lani made a decisive move to regain the lead which she nursed to the finish for her first win of the season. Local challenger Jagathrishree (Pacer Yamaha) came in third, ahead of Ann Jennifer (Alpha Racing).

Consecutive win

Consecutive win

In the Petronas TVS One-Make Championship, Aditi Krishnan from Bengaluru notched her fourth consecutive win in the Girls (Apache RTR 200) category while Chiranth Vishwanath from Bengaluru scored a double to remain unbeaten after eight races and four rounds in the Rookie class.

Provisional results (all 6 laps unless mentioned):

National Championship - Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open (Race-2, 8 laps):

1. KY Ahamed (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (15min, 12.117secs)

2. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (15:12.208)

3. Rajini Krishnan (Chennai, RACR Castrol Power1) (15:22.655).

Pro-Stock 165cc Open (Race-2, 8 laps):

1. Prabhu Arunagiri (Chennai, Pacer Yamaha) (15:46.872)

2. Rajiv Sethu (Chennai, Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing) (15:47.054)

3. KY Ahamed (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (15:47.342).

Novice (Stock 165cc, Race-2):

1. Rohan Ramesh (Coimbatore, Axor Sparks Racing) (13:06.392)

2. Sarvesh Balappa (Hubbali, Axor Sparks Racing) (13:06.633)

3. P Vignesh Goud (Pvt, Hyderabad) (13:07.152).

Girls (Stock 165cc, 5 laps):

1. Lani Zena Fernandez (Puducherry, RACR Castrol Power1) (10:58.104)

2. Jagruti Penkar (Mumbai, Axor Sparks Racing) (10:58.298)

3. Jagathishree (Chennai, Pacer Yamaha) (11:05.958).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup - NSF 250R (Race-2, 10 laps):

1. Kavin Quintal (Chennai) (18:25.485)

2. Mohsin P (Malappuram) (18:46.045)

3. Shyam Sundar (Chennai) (18:46.212).

Novice (CBR 150, Race-2):

1. Raheesh Mudassar Khatri (Mumbai) (12:55.276)

2. Siddesh Sawant (Kolhapur) (12:55.991); 3. Rajender Beedani (Jangaon) (13:12.555).

Hornet 2.0 (Support event, Race-2):

1. Allwin Xavier (Thrissur) (13:30.607)

2. G Balaji (Chennai) (13:31.402)

3. Romario John (Chennai) (13:31.405).

Petronas TVS One-Make Championship - Open (Apache RR 310, Race-1):

1. Rahil Pillarisetty (Hyderabad) (11:43.069)

2. P. Ananthraj (Chennai) (11:43.111)

3. Venkatesan I (Chennai) (11:44.644).


1. Rahil Pillarisetty (Hyderabad) (11:46.580)

2. Mohan Babu P (Chennai) (11:49.351)

3. Ananthraj P (Chennai) (11:49.353).

Rookie (Apache RTR 200, Race-2):

1. Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru) (12:36.605)

2. Abdul Basim RS (Chennai) (12:44.161)

3. Shreyas Hareesh (Bengaluru) (12:52.597)

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Read more about: motorsport mrf fmsci
Story first published: Sunday, September 11, 2022, 18:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 11, 2022

Latest Videos

    + More