Home » Badminton » News » 22nd Sub-Junior and Mini National Badminton Championship ends

22nd Sub-Junior and Mini National Badminton Championship ends

Patna, Nov 16 (UNI) Rituparna Das of West Bengal and Shayali Rane of Maharashtra clinched both the singles and doubles titles in respective categories in the finals of the '22nd Sub-Junior and Mini National Badminton Championships' here today.

Executing excellent footwork and hard smashes Rituparna first clinched the singles title in the Mini(girls) category, defeating Ruchika Viwani of Karnataka 21-9 and 21-13 in less than an hour.

Similarly,in the girls' Sub-Junior,Shayali overcame the stiff resistance from Sindhu Moldhe of Andhra Pradesh and defeated her in straight sets by 21-19 and 21-15 after a ding dong battle which lasted more than 90 minutes.

In the doubles finals of both the categories, Rituparna partnering with Ruchika defeated the pair of V Harika and K Reshma of Andhra Pradesh 21-13 and 22-20 in a hard fought match, while Shayali and her partner Nanche Lende in the sub junior category gave no chance to Manisha and Sindhu of Karnatka to win by 21-15 and 21-12.

In the boys' Sub-Junior section, Samir Varma of Madhaya Pradesh beat his compatriot Pratul Joshi 21-23, 21-19 and 21-16 in a marathon battle, while in the Mini boys final Arshalan Naqvi of Uttar Pradesh defeated Deshpriya Aditya of Madhaya Pradesh 21-7, 17-21 and 21-14 in another hard fought match.

In the boys' Sub-junior doubles final Venkatesh and Prahlad(AP) pair defeated Pratul and Samir (MP) 20-22, 21-18 and 21-8 in another tough match, while G D Ganga and Purudminhaz duo from Andhra Pradesh beat the Tamil Nadu pair 21-18 and 21-16 in straight sets.

Later Railway minister Lalu Prasad distributed prises and cash awards among the winners. He also announced a special cash award of Rs 25,000 each to the winners of all categories.


Story first published: Sunday, November 16, 2008, 21:33 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 16, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...