IBL: Know your team - Krrish Delhi Smashers

Posted By:
IBL: Know your team - Krrish Delhi Smashers
Indian Badminton League (IBL) is a franchise-based city teams tournament which is worth $1 million. This is the richest badminton league in the world. Six teams will be seen in action from August 14 to 31, 2013. This year's is the inaugural edition of IBL. Krrish Delhi Smashers, Lucknow Warriors, Mumbai Masters, Banga Beats, Pune Pistons and Hyderabad Hotshots are the teams.

Also read: Banga Beats; Mumbai Masters; Pune Pistons; Lucknow Warriors; Hyderabad Hotshots

The six franchises had a purse of $275,000 to buy players in the auction, which was held a few days back in Delhi. Each team comprises of 11 players - four foreign, six Indians and one junior.

Matches will be played on home and away format in four categories - men's singles, men's doubles, women's singles and mixed doubles.

The top four will make the semi-finals. The final is scheduled for August 31 in Mumbai.

Here, get to know about Delhi franchise - Krrish Delhi Smashers.

Team: Krrish Delhi Smashers

Owners: Krrish Group

Host Association: Delhi Badminton Association

Host Stadium: DDA Badminton and Squash Stadium

Costliest players: Boon Hoeng Tan and Kien Keat Koo (both Malaysia) $50,000 each

List of players bought in the auction

Nichaon Jindapon (Thailand) $15,000

Boon Hoeng Tan (Malaysia) $50,000

Jwala Gutta (India) $31,000

Wong Wing Ki (Hong Kong) $20,000

Kien Keat Koo (Malaysia) $50,000

HS Prannoy (India) $16,000

Sai Praneeth (India) $40,000

Arundhati Panthawane (India) $15,000

V Diju (India) $30,000

Prajakta Sawant (India) $7,000

Krrish Delhi Smashers schedule

Vs Mumbai Masters - August 20

Vs Lucknow Warriors - August 22

Vs Banga Beats - August 25

Vs Hyderabad Hotshots - August 17

Vs Pune Pistons - August 15

OneIndia News

Story first published: Wednesday, July 24, 2013, 14:05 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 24, 2013

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel