Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Satwik-Chirag, Para shuttler Pramod nominated for BWF awards

By Pti
Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty nominated for BWF awards

New Delhi, December 5: The Indian men's doubles pair of Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty have been nominated for the 'Most Improved Player of the Year' award by the Badminton World Federation (BWF) after a stellar season during which the duo picked up some memorable wins.

The young combination had a breakthrough season, claiming its maiden Super 500 title at Thailand Open before reaching the finals of French Open Super 750 event this year.

The other nominees in the category include Canada's women's singles player Michelle Li, Korean women's doubles pairing of Kim So Yeong and Kong Hee Yong and Indonesian mixed doubles combination of Praveen Jordan and Melati Daeva Oktavianti.

The prestigious BWF awards recognise the achievements of the elite badminton players and pairs in six categories, including two in Para badminton.

India's para badminton player Pramod Bhagat, who has bagged 11 gold, three silver and four bronze medals this year, was nominated for the 'Male Para Badminton Player of the Year' award.

Olympic silver-medallist P V Sindhu, however, didn't find a place in the list of nominees for 'Female Player of the Year' as she didn't win any title barring the world championship gold this year.

World No.1 Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei, who has won three titles on BWF World Tour, is in line for the award after being nominated.

Among others, China's mixed doubles player Huang Ya Qiong (World Championships 2019; six titles), Japanese doubles pair of Yuki Fukushima and Sayaka Hirota (silver at World Championships; four titles) and Chinese doubles pair of Chen Qing Chen and Jia Yi Fan (Five titles, including Badminton Asia Championships) were also nominated for the 'Female Player of the Year' award.

In the Male Player of the Year awards, two-time world champion and world no 1 Kento Momota of Japan, who has claimed 10 titles this year, was nominated alongside the Indonesian men's doubles pair of Marcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, who won eight titles.

Chinese mixed doubles player Zheng Si Wei (BWF World Championships 2018; six titles overall) and Indonesia's Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan were the other nominees in the Male Player of the year awards.

The top performers of the year will be presented with the awards at the opening ceremony and gala dinner of the second edition of the BWF World Tour Finals to be held from December 11 to 15.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Story first published: Thursday, December 5, 2019, 12:23 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 5, 2019
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more