Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Tai Tzu looking forward to exciting battle against Sindhu in PBL

By Pti
Tai Tzu looking forward to exciting battle against Sindhu in PBL

Chennai, Jan 7: World number 2 shuttler Tai Tzu Ying of Chinese Taipei finds the format of the Premier Badminton League (PBL) exciting as she looks forward to locking swords against world champion Indian P V Sindhu in the cash-rich tournament.

Premier Badminton League: Schedule: PV Sindhu, Tai Tzu Ying to sizzle in PBL 5 opening leg in Chennai

Asian Games gold medallist Tai Tzu -- playing for Bengaluru Raptors -- is one of the top global stars taking part in the PBL season 5 which begins here in January with a match between Sindhu's Hyderabad Hunters and Chennai Superstarz.

"I had a great time playing in PBL last time. The format of the league is very exciting and that is why I like to play in the league. I am very excited to join the Bengaluru Raptors team for the PBL season 5," said Tai Tzu.

"I hope lot of fans will come to the stadiums to watch the matches and my fans around the world will follow it on TV and online. I look forward to playing against all teams, especially against P V Sindhu," added the former world number one women's singles shuttler from Chinese Taipei.

Sindhu's Hyderabad Hunters and Tai Tzu's Bengaluru Raptors can meet each other on January 31 in the third leg in Hyderabad. Tai Tzu has a favourable career head-to-head record against world number 6 Sindhu, having won 11 of the 16 matches between the two. But the Indian had beaten Tai Tzu in the quarterfinal of the World Championships before eventually winning the tournament.

PBL 5 will be played here for the first five days before it moves to Lucknow on January 25, followed by seven days of badminton extravaganza in Hyderabad while the semi-finals and the grand finale will be staged in Bangalore. The 21-day event will witness 24 ties being played with seven teams -- Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Mumbai Rockets, Hyderabad Hunters, Chennai Superstarz, North Eastern Warriors and Pune 7 Aces -- slugging it out for a prize purse of Rs 6 crore in four cities.

The fifth edition of the league will see competition of the highest level as five Olympic medallists and 15 World Championships medallists will be taking part.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Story first published: Tuesday, January 7, 2020, 21:31 [IST]
Other articles published on Jan 7, 2020
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more