Home » Cricket » News »10 facts about IPL 2015 Final between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians

10 facts about IPL 2015 Final between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians

Posted By:

Kolkata, May 23: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will battle it out for the title in the final of the 8th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 8) here at Eden Gardens tomorrow (May 24 Sunday). (Dhoni angry with Raina?)

IPL Special; Final Guide; Photos; Rain rules

Chennai and Mumbai had finished as number 1 and 2 respectively at the end of the league phase. They met in the Qualifier 1 where Mumbai won and qualified for the final. Chennai got another chance and they defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in Qualifier 2 to set up a repeat meeting. (Can MI win with 'power of No. 2'?)

Can MS Dhoni become the first IPL captain to win 3 titles?

Here are 10 facts about the IPL 2015 Final

1. CSK and MI are meeting in an IPL final for the 3rd time. The head-to-head record in finals is 1-1. CSK won in 2010 and MI in 2013

2. CSK can create history by becoming the first team to win the IPL title 3 times. They had won in 2010 and 2011 (Look back at previous 7 finals)

3. CSK are featuring in their 6th IPL final which is a record. They played in 2008, 2010 (won), 2011 (won), 2012, 2013 finals. In all those matches, MS Dhoni was the captain

4. It is the second time that Kolkata's Eden Gardens is hosting IPL final. In 2013 too, the title clash at this venue was contested by the same teams - CSK and MI

5. Ricky Ponting can make it a double if MI win the crown. He has won the title as a player with MI in 2013 and now can add the sliverware as the head coach of the side

6. Dwayne Smith, the current CSK opener, was MI's opening batsman when the two sides met in 2013 final

7. CSK can become only the 2nd side in IPL history to win the title after finishing the league as No. 1. Only RR has achieved this, in 2008

8. Signs are good for MI to win the title going by what has happened in the past 4 editions. All previous 4 champions had finished league stage at No. 2 and MI was placed 2nd this year. If MI win, they will become the 3rd side after CSK and Kolkata Knight Riders to win 2 titles

9. The winner of the final will be richer by a whopping Rs 15 crore. The loser receives Rs 10 crore

10. If the final is washed out (it has a reserve day - May 25), then CSK will be declared champions as they finished higher than MI in the league stage

OneIndia News

Story first published: Saturday, May 23, 2015, 15:01 [IST]
Other articles published on May 23, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...