Home » Cricket » News »Acharya Media Cup 2013 to kick off tomorrow

Acharya Media Cup 2013 to kick off tomorrow

Posted By:

Bangalore, Mar 14: Cricket teams of major newspapers, websites and television channels will start competing for the Acharya Media Cup 2013 here on Friday.

The league matches, quarter-finals, semi-finals and the final will be all played at the Smt Nagarathnamma stadium, Acharya Institutes, Soldevanahalli, Bangalore.

In the first league match on Friday, cricketers of OneIndia will lock horns with their counterparts from Kannada Prabha. This match is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m and will be followed by the one between Sankara TV and the Press Club.

The TV-9 and Kasthuri News teams are slated to line up against each other at 10.40 a.m. The match between Suvarna 24/7 and Times of India will be held around 12 p.m.

At 2.40 p.m, cricket teams of Andhra Jyothi and News 9 will take to the field. The last match of the day will begin at 4 p.m.

The remaining league matches and four quarter-finals will be held on Saturday. The two semi-finals and the final is slated for Sunday.

The tournament will feature as many as 18 media houses of the Garden City. Other organisations could not gain an entry into the tournament that has been gaining in popularity with each passing year.

Acharya Media Cup 2013

Corporate and media professionals will try to give their best both with the bat and ball during the 5th edition of Acharya Media Cup. The participating teams were selected on the 'first come, first serve' basis.

Prizes will be awarded to the man of the match, best batsmen, bowlers and fielders in the tournament. The winners will be given a cash prize of Rs 30,000 while the runners-up will get Rs 20,000.

OneIndia is the online partner for this year's tournament that is being organised by Acharya Habba, an initiative by Acharya Institutes, Bangalore. The New Indian Express and Kannada Prabha are the print partners, while Janashri News Kannada and 104 FM Fever are the TV and radio partners respectively.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, March 14, 2013, 19:33 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 14, 2013
Please Wait while comments are loading...