Home » Cricket » News »After Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan gets MCC's Honorary Life Membership

After Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan gets MCC's Honorary Life Membership

London, Sep 2: Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has elected former India paceman Zaheer Khan as an Honorary Life Member of the Club.

Sehwag is honorary life member of MCC

Zaheer is the second former India player to be elected in recent weeks following Virender Sehwag, who became an Honorary Life Member in August, MCC said on its website on Friday (September 2).

Zaheer Khan

The left-arm bowler played 92 Test matches for India, taking 311 wickets at 32.94 runs apiece. The 37-year-old was also a mainstay in India's ODI side, making his debut in 2000, Khan took 282 wickets in 200 ODIs at an average of 29.34.

He played 3 Tests at Lord's, and narrowly missed out on a place on the Lord's Honours Board when he took 4/79 in the drawn Test match between England and India in 2007.

He also played three ODIs at the Home of Cricket, including the famous NatWest Series Final in 2002, in which he took 3/62.

John Stephenson, MCC Head of Cricket, said: "Zaheer Khan was a fantastic servant to cricket in India and an integral part of their very successful side for many years.

"For this reason the Club is very pleased to award him with Honorary Life Membership.

"He was always great to watch when he played at Lord's and we look forward to having him back here as an MCC Member."

Honorary Life Membership is awarded by the MCC Committee to individuals in recognition of the service they have given to the cricket and projects surrounding the game, often over a very long period.

There are now more than 300 Honorary Life Members of MCC out of a total Full Membership of 18,000.

List of Indians who are Honarary Life Members of MCC, with year of election

Nari Contractor (1969)

Ajit Wadekar (1978)

Chandu Borde (1981)

Farookh Engineer (1981)

Bapu Nadkarni (1981)

Bishan Singh Bedi (1982)

BS Chandrasekhar (1982)

EAS Prasanna (1984)

S Venkataraghavan (1988)

GR Viswanath (1990)

Mohinder Amarnath (1993)

Sunil Gavaskar (1993)

Dilip Vengsarkar (1993)

Kapil Dev (1995)

SMH Kirmani (1995)

Ravi Shastri (1995)

Kiran More (1999)

Rahul Dravid (2008)

Anil Kumble (2008)

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

Sourav Ganguly (2015)

Miss Anjum Chopra (2016)

Virender Sehwag (2016)

Zaheer Khan (2016)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, September 2, 2016, 17:13 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 2, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...