Home » Cricket » News »All 3 South African squads announced for India tour

All 3 South African squads announced for India tour

Posted By:

Johannesburg, Sep 10: South Africa today named 3 spinners in their Test squad for the 4-match Mahatma Gandhi-Nelson Mandela series (Freedom Trophy) against India.

Imran Tahir (legspinner), Dane Piedt (offspinner) and Simon Harmer (offspinner) are the 3 specialist slow bowlers selected in the 15-man squad to be captained by Hashim Amla.

Hashim Amla will lead South Africa's Test side

On their tour to India, South Africa will play 3 Twenty20 Internationals, 5 One Day Internationals and 4 Tests. The tour starts with a T20 warm-up match in Delhi on September 29.

Also, the Proteas T20I and ODI squads were announced on Thursday. AB de Villiers will lead in the 50-over format while Faf du Plessis is the skipper of the T20 side.

"We want to keep all our options open for the Test Series. We also have JP Duminy as an option in this department and I believe we have covered all our bases by having both holding and attacking spin options in our squad. It is good to have Dane back from his injury and Imran was our No. 1 spinner for our last Test series on the sub-continent against Sri Lanka," Cricket South Africa's (CSA) selection convener, Linda Zondi, said.

"Rilee Rossouw has been ruled out of the T20 squad through injury but should return to full fitness in time for the ODI series. His place in the T20 squad will be taken by new cap, Khaya Zondo," CSA said.

South Africa squads for India tour

Tests: Hashim Amla (captain), AB de Villiers (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Simon Harmer, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper).

ODIs: AB de Villiers (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.

T20s: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, David Miller, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, David Wiese (injured), Albie Morkel (replacement for Wiese), Khaya Zondo.

AB de Villiers, the ODI captain

Tour schedule

Warm-up and Twenty20 Internationals

September 29 (Thursday): T20 warm-up, New Delhi

October 2 (Friday): 1st T20I, Dharamsala

October 5 (Monday): 2nd T20I, Cuttack

October 8 (Thursday): 3rd T20I, Kolkata

One Day Internationals

October 11 (Sunday): 1st ODI, Kanpur

October 14 (Wednesday): 2nd ODI, Indore

October 18 (Sunday): 3rd ODI, Rajkot

October 22 (Thursday): 4th ODI, Chennai

October 25 (Sunday): 5th ODI, Mumbai

Warm-up and Test matches

October 30-31 (Friday to Saturday): Tour game - South Africa Vs Board President's XI, Mumbai

November 5-9 (Thursday to Monday): 1st Test, Mohali

November 14-18 (Saturday to Wednesday): 2nd Test, Bengaluru

November 25-29 (Wednesday to Sunday): 3rd Test, Nagpur

December 3-7 (Thursday to Monday): 4th Test, New Delhi

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, September 10, 2015, 15:17 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 10, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...