Home » Cricket » News »All you need to know about IPL 8 'Opening Nite'

All you need to know about IPL 8 'Opening Nite'

Posted By:

Kolkata, April 6: The 8th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL 8) will officially get under way with the "Opening Nite" at Salt Lake Stadium here tomorrow (April 7) at 7.30 PM.

IPL Schedule; Watch matches for free

"A glitzy 'Opening Nite' celebration on Tuesday, 7 April 2015, at the Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata, will kick start this season of the Pepsi IPL. Entertainers will come together on one stage to mark the start of the eighth season of the IPL with the evening's proceedings being hosted by Saif Ali Khan," BCCI's secretary Anurag Thakur said.

File photo: Kolkata Knight Riders' players celebrating IPL 7 victory

"Matching the energy, verve and spirit of the competition is a dazzling line-up of Bollywood stars, including Farhan Akhtar & Band, Shahid Kapoor, Anushka Sharma, Pritam & Band and Hrithik Roshan," he added.

He further stated, "All eight team captains will be present to take the MCC Spirit of Cricket pledge, reaffirming the values in IPL's commitment to the Spirit of Cricket, which has been on display since the competition's inception in 2008. Gautam Gambhir, captain of defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders, will put the trophy back in play, signalling the start of the 2015 season of the competition.

"The two-hour evening's performance will start at 7:30 pm and the gates of the venue will open at 5:00 pm."

Tickets for the Opening Nite can be purchased from iplt20.com. The Opening Nite will be telecast live on Sony Max and Sony Six. It will be streamed on Hotstar.

Opening Nite details

Date: April 7

Time: 7.30 PM

Venue: Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata

Live on: Sony Max and Sony Six

All 8 team captains will attend

OneIndia News

Read more about: ipl ipl 8 cricket kolkata bcci
Story first published: Monday, April 6, 2015, 11:29 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 6, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...