Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Australia captain Steve Smith wins second Allan Border Medal

SteveSmith - cropped

Sydney, Feb 12: Steve Smith has been awarded the Allan Border Medal for the second time in his career.

Australia captain Smith, who first claimed the accolade in 2015, was a comfortable winner, his 246 votes easily outstripping runner-up David Warner (162) and Nathan Lyon (156) in third.

The 28-year-old, who skippered his team to a 4-0 Ashes victory over England and averaged 67.64 across all formats, was also named Test player of the year at a ceremony in Melbourne.

Smith was proud to be recognised for his efforts over the past season and believes a tougher mentality has been key to his achievements.

"I don't play for these kinds of awards, I play to try to help the team win and stand up – particularly as the leader of the side," he said at a media conference.

"It's been challenging and I'm proud of the way I've accomplished a few things; scoring a second-innings hundred in India against some quality spinners gave me incredible confidence to know that I can do that against anyone, and the determination of a few innings, particularly in the Ashes in Brisbane and in Melbourne – just the resilience I showed was really pleasing."

On the key to that resilience, he added: "It's just keeping my mind in a really good place. Whenever I feel like my mind is going off the job I quickly recognise it and get myself back into where it needs to be and it's just about doing that over and over again for long periods of time. That's the most pleasing thing for me, that I have been able to do it.

"My mind's gone to another level and hopefully it can keep going that way and I can keep getting better as well."

Warner was named ODI Player of the Year, while Aaron Finch picked up the award for the Twenty20 format.

All-rounder Ellyse Perry, who scored a double-hundred and took three wickets in the women's Ashes draw against England, won the Belinda Clark Award for the second time.

Source: OPTA/OmniSport

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

    Story first published: Monday, February 12, 2018, 18:00 [IST]
    Other articles published on Feb 12, 2018
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more