Home » Cricket » News » Australia name Jaques, Tait, Hogg in test squad

Australia name Jaques, Tait, Hogg in test squad

SYDNEY, Nov 1 (Reuters) Australia named opening batsman Phil Jaques, fast bowler Shaun Tait and spinner Brad Hogg today in a 13-man squad for next week's first test against Sri Lanka. Jaques will open the batting with Matthew Hayden in place of the retired Justin Langer, while Tait and Hogg are competing with Mitchell Johnson and Stuart MacGill to support Brett Lee and Stuart Clark in the bowling attack for the game in Brisbane.

''We have selected a squad of 13 for the first test match,'' chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said in a Cricket Australia statement.

''It gives us the opportunity to take the players to Brisbane, watch their preparation, assess the conditions in Brisbane and decide on the best balance for our team.'' The squad will be reduced to 12 on Wednesday, the day before the match starts.

''It is fairly standard to select four fast bowlers in the Australian squad,'' Hilditch said. ''The bowlers we have chosen are all different and all bring exciting aspects to the team.'' Australia squad - Ricky Ponting (captain), Matthew Hayden, Phil Jaques, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Adam Gilchrist, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Shaun Tait.


Story first published: Thursday, November 1, 2007, 10:32 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 1, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...