Home » Cricket » News »Australia to tour New Zealand in February 2016

Australia to tour New Zealand in February 2016

Posted By: PTI

Wellington, Aug 27: Australia will play two Tests and three one-day internationals on its tour to New Zealand in February 2016, sacrificing an additional Test to revive the one-day international series for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy.

The Tests will be played at Wellington's Basin Reserve from February 12 to 16 and at Christchurch's Hagley Oval from February 20 to 24.

Australia to tour New Zealand in February 2016

A third Test was planned but New Zealand Cricket confirmed Thursday that a three-match one-day series will be played instead - the first series for the Chapell-Hadlee Trophy since 2010. The matches will be played at Auckland on February 3, Wellington on February 6 and Hamilton on February 8.

Australia and New Zealand will meet in eight Chappell-Hadlee series over the next seven years. New Zealand will also host tours by Sri Lanka in December and Pakistan in January.

The Sri Lanka series will include a Boxing Day one-day international at Hagley Oval on December 26, while Pakistan will play a one-day match at the Basin Reserve on January 25 - the first ODI at the Wellington venue in 10 years.

One-day internationals in Wellington have recently been played at the larger Wellington Regional Stadium. The Australian test at the Basin Reserve will likely see New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum play a world-record 100th consecutive test since debut, unless injury intervenes.

In total, New Zealand will play four Tests, 11 ODIs and five T20 internationals during the domestic summer.


New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka

December 10-14, 1st Test, Dunedin

Dec 18-22, 2nd Test, Hamilton

Dec. 26, first ODI, Christchurch

Dec. 28, second ODI, Christchurch

Dec. 31, third ODI, Nelson

January 2, fourth ODI, Nelson

Jan. 5, fifth ODI, Mt. Maunganui

Jan. 7, first T20 international, Mt. Maunganui

Jan. 10, second T20, Auckland

New Zealand Vs Pakistan

January 15, first T20, Auckland

Jan. 17, second T20, Hamilton

Jan. 22, third T20, Wellington

Jan. 25, first ODI, Wellington

Jan. 28, second ODI, Napier

Jan. 31, third ODI, Auckland

New Zealand Vs Australia

February 3, first ODI, Auckland

Feb. 6, second ODI, Wellington

Feb. 8, third ODI, Hamilton

Feb. 12-16, first Test, Wellington

Feb. 20-24, second Test, Christchurch


Story first published: Thursday, August 27, 2015, 11:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Aug 27, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...