Bengal enters finals in Inter Zone cricket tourney

Visakhapatnam, Apr 7(UNI) Bengal entered the finals of the All India Inter Zone one-day cricket tournament in the Vijay Hazare trophy by four wickets when they defeated Mumbai in the semi-finals here today.

Mumbai won the toss and elected to bat. A Mazumdar top scored with 71, studded with four boundaries and a six and in the company of Rahane, who scored 55, with six fours and two six, Mumbai could score 249 for the loss of nine wickets in 50 overs. Saxena took four wickets for 50 runs.

Bengal in reply, romped home with 250 for six in 45.5 overs.

Goswami scored 48 with five boundaries. L R Shukla scored 65, studded with six fours and a six. Debarta Das remained unbeaten with 55 with three fours and three sixs. D Kulkarani took three for 45.

Scores: Mumbai 249 for 9 in 50 overs. Rahane 5(6x4,2x6), A Muzumdar 71 (4x4,1x6) and A Nayar 32.

Bengal bowling: I Saxena 4 for 50,L R Shukla one for 23.

Bengal 250 for six in 45.4 overs, S Goswami 48 (5x4) L R Shukla 65 (6x4,1x6), Debarata Das not out 55(3x4,3x6) and Manoj Tiwari 36(5x4).

Mumbai bowling: D Kulkarni three for 45, R Powar two for 38 and I Abdulla one for 56.


Story first published: Monday, April 7, 2008, 21:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 7, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...