'Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000': Virender Sehwag's 195 at 13th spot

Posted By:

Melbourne, Sep 22: Indian opening batsman Virender Sehwag's superb 195 against Australia in the 2003 Boxing Day Test features among the "Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000".

Must-watch: Cricket match turns into wrestling contest

Sehwag smashed 195 (233 balls, 25x4, 5x6) on the opening day of the Boxing Day Test in 2003 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Despite his brilliant knock, India lost the match by 9 wickets to the home team. Sehwag attempted to reach to double ton with a six but was caught in the outfield.

Virender Sehwag

It was the farewell series of the then Australian captain Steve Waugh. India went into the Melbourne Test (3rd game) with 1-0 lead in the 4-match series. The opening Test in Brisbane was drawn. The 4th and final Test in Sydney also ended in a draw and the honour shared at 1-1.

Sehwag extended India's domination with a typical innings against the bowling attack of Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Brad Williams and Stuart MacGill. However, the rest of the batting failed as India were all out for 366 in the 1st innings.

Now, Sehwag's 195 features in the "Best Test Tons in Australi since 2000" on Cricket Australia's (CA) website. This knock of Delhi batsman is at 13th place.

As they began the countdown to pick the best 15 Test centuries on Australian soil this century, Sehwag is in the company of David Warner, Simon Katich, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara and AB de Villiers.

So far, they have unveiled the best from 15 to 10. Warner is at 15 while Katich is slotted at 14. Amla (12), Sangakkara (11) and De Villiers (10) complete the 5 spots.

It will be interesting to see which other Indian features in the Top-9 list.

Best Test Tons in Australia since 2000 (As per CA's website)

15. David Warner (Australia) 123 not out Vs New Zealand (Bellerive Oval, Hobart, December 2011)

14. Simon Katich (Australia) 131 not out Vs New Zealand (Gabba, Brisbane, November 2008)

13. Virender Sehwag (India) 195 Vs Australia (MCG, Melbourne, 2003)

12. Hashim Amla (South Africa) 196 Vs Australia (WACA Ground, December 2012)

11. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 192 Vs Australia (Bellerive Oval, Hobart, November 2007)

10. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 106 not out Vs Australia (WACA Ground, December 2008)

Note: Best knocks from 9 to 1 are yet to be released.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Tuesday, September 22, 2015, 15:14 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 22, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel