Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Catch controversy hits World Cup as Sean Williams, Zimbabwe 'cheated'

Hobart, Mar 7: Another umpiring controversy erupted at ICC World Cup 2015 as Zimbabwe batsman Sean Williams appeared to have been wrongly given out when an Ireland fielder had touched the boundary during their Pool B clash here today.

; Report; World Cup Special

Zimbabwe went down to Ireland by 5 runs in a last-over thriller at Bellerive Oval on Saturday but the talking point was Williams' controversial dismissal. Zimbabwe were chasing 332 for victory but fell short by 5 as they were bowled out for 326 in 49.3 overs. (I can't win World Cup on my own: De Villiers)

From TV - John Mooney's foot appears to have touched the boundary

With the match heading for a tense finish, Williams' dismissal in the 47th over (300/7 in 46.5 overs) proved the turning point in the end. At the time, Zimbabwe needed 32 runs off 19 balls.

The left-hander was batting on 96 when he hit a Kevin O'Brien ball towards the leg-side where John Mooney took the catch at the boundary. Williams walked off taking the fielder's word on the catch.

However, replays suggested that Mooney's left leg had brushed the rope at the boundary. Zimbabwe's coach Dav Whatmore, who took Sri Lanka to World Cup glory in 1996 was livid with the decision as he jumped out of his chair in the dressing room after watching the replays.

Joel Wilson of West Indies was the third umpire while Ruchira Palliyaguruge (Sri Lanka) and Paul Reiffel (Australia) were on the field.

After the match, Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor was asked about the controversial catch and he said, "You have got to take his (Mooney) word for it. It looked pretty clear but you have to take the fielder's word."

Irish skipper William Porterfield said he had not watched the replays to comment on the catch. "It's very hard to tell on the line. It was great skill anyway. I haven't seen it (replay) so I don't know," he said.

"Actual the boundary moved," former Australian cricketer Tom Moody said on commentary and also in the post-match show on TV.

On social media, cricket fans slammed the International Cricket Council (ICC) for this controversy. Some of the African side's supporters felt Zimbabwe were "cheated".

Here are some of the reactions from Twitter

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Saturday, March 7, 2015, 17:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 7, 2015
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more