Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Champions Trophy: Shikhar Dhawan wins Golden Bat, Hasan Ali bags Golden Ball

By Oneindia Staff Writer

London, June 18: Fast bowler Hasan Ali was named player of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 after he bowled Pakistan to their maiden ICC Champions Trophy title at The Oval.

CT 17 special site; Photos; Final report; Final scorecard

Sunday's (June 18) 180-run victory over traditional rival India was also Pakistan's first title in a 50-over tournament since winning the ICC Cricket World Cup 1992. They had won the ICC World Twenty20 England 2009, and as such, have become only the fourth side after India, Sri Lanka and the West Indies to win all the 3 ICC majors.

Shikhar (left) celebrates his century against Sri Lanka in Champions Trophy 2017

Hasan also won the Golden Ball trophy after finishing the series with 13 wickets, while India opener Shikhar Dhawan, who had won the player of the tournament in 2013, walked away with the Golden Bat trophy with 338 runs.

Hasan was in sublime form in the tournament when he displayed excellent variation, picked up wickets consistently and in crucial phases during Pakistan's successful journey in the competition, which had started with a 124 runs drubbing at hands of India at Edgbaston on 4 June.

After being at the wrong end of the stick against India when he picked up one for 70 in 10 overs, Hasan bounced back strongly and returned figures of three for 24 against South Africa, three for 43 against Sri Lanka, three for 35 against England in the Cardiff semi-final and three for 19 in the final against India.

As such, he finished the series with 13 wickets at an average of 14.69 and an economy-rate of 4.29.

Hasan was selected as the Player of the Tournament by a five-person selection panel that comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), former captains Michael Atherton of England, India's Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan, as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack, and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (correspondent of the Agence France-Presse).

Meanwhile, Dhawan won the Golden Bat trophy after finishing as the leading run-getter.

The left-hander scored 68 against Pakistan, 125 against Sri Lanka, 78 against South Africa, 46 in the semi-final against Bangladesh and 21 against Pakistan in the final.

ICC Champions Trophy Player of the Tournament winners

1998 - Jacques Kallis (South Africa)

2000 - Not awarded

2002 - Not awarded

2004 - Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)

2006 - Chris Gayle (West Indies)

2009 - Ricky Ponting (Australia)

2013 - Shikhar Dhawan (India)

2017 - Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Sunday, June 18, 2017, 22:59 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 18, 2017
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more