Chopra, Dhawan hit centuries as Delhi thrash Punjab by 10 wickets

New Delhi, Feb 28 (UNI) A marathon 277-run stand between openers Akash Chopra and Shikhar Dhawan led Delhi to a comprehensive 10-wicket win over Punjab in their Ranji Trophy one day (North Zone) match played at the Feroz Shah Kotla here today.

Akash Chopra, who scored an unbeaten century in the last match against Jammu and Kashmir, started from where he left on Tuesday and crafted a 140-ball 130 runs which contained 18 hits to the fence.

Dhawan too looked to be in full flow as he slammed 139 runs off just 121 balls as the two openers put up a huge partnership to bat the visitors out of the match.

Earlier in the morning, Delhi captain Mithun Manhas won the toss and asked Punjab to bat first.

Manhas's decision to field first yielded immediate results as Punjab were reduced 16 for two in the fourth over.

But then, Ravinder Singh(64) and captain Pankaj Dharmani(33) started the repairwork.with an 80-run stand between them.

Later, Uday Kaul scored a patient 64 off 81 balls and posted a 104-run stand with Ankur Kakkar (59 off 56 balls) to set a competitive target for the hosts.

For Delhi, Amit Bhandari was the pick of the bowlers claiming two wickets in his alloted 10 overs while except for Chetan Nanda all the other bowlers chipped in with a wicket each.

However, the Delhi openers were in no mood to give the Punjab bowlers any chance as they raced through the visitor's total in just 43.3 overs.

None of the Punjab bowlers looked effective enough to trouble the Delhi openers on a typical Feroz Shah Kotla wicket.

Scoreboard: Punjab innings: Sunny Sohal lbw b Bhandari 0 Karan Goel c Chopra b Narwal 4 Ravinder Singh c Dhawan b Manhas 64 Pankaj Dharmani b Bhatia 33 Uday Kaul b Bhandari 64 Ravinder Ricky lbw b Manan Sharma 2 Ankur Kakkar b Awana 59 M Gony run out 1 Gagandeep Singh not out 12 VRV Singh not out 30 Extras (lb 2, w 2, nb 1) 5 Total (in 50 overs) 274 for 8 Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Sohal, 0.2 ov), 2-16 (Goel, 3.6 ov), 3-96 (Dharmani, 19.4 ov), 4-116 (Inder, 24.5 ov), 5-124 (Ricky, 26.4 ov), 6-228 (Kakkar, 45.3 ov), 7-232 (Gony, 46.4 ov), 8-233 (Kaul, 46.6 ov) Bowling: A Bhandari 1-0-43-2, S Narwal 9-1-6-1, P Awana 10-0-62-1, R Bhatia 8-0-40-1, Mithun Manhas 4-0-20-1, Manan Sharma 2-0-12-1, C Nanda 7-0-32-0 Delhi innings (target: 275 runs from 50 overs): Akash Chopra not out 130 Shikhar Dhawan not out 139 Extras (lb 1, w 7) 8 Total (in 43.3 overs) 277 for no loss Bowling: Gagandeep Singh 9-0-56-0, VRV Singh 10-0-63-0, M Gony 7.3-0-56-0, A Kakkar 4-0-29-0, S Ladda 7-0-41-0, K Goel 6-0-31-0 Toss Delhi, who chose to field first Result: Delhi won by 10 wickets (with 39 balls remaining) UNI RAR AB KP2006

Story first published: Friday, February 29, 2008, 13:02 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 29, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...