Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

CPL 2022: Caribbean Premier League to start from August 30, Women's CPL confirmed

CPL 2022 to start from August 30

St John’s, March 15: The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) have confirmed that this year's CPL (CPL 2022) will feature a women's tournament with three franchise teams competing for the first Women's CPL (WCPL) title.

The three teams will showcase the best women's cricketers from across the Caribbean with overseas stars rounding out the teams.

The three teams who will compete in the inaugural WCPL will be Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders.

The women's tournament will take place during the men's event inside the CPL 2022 tournament window which this year will run from August 30 to September 30.

The CPL 2022 tournament will be celebrating 10 years of the league and enters its 10th season off the back of a highly successful CPL 2021, with over half a billion viewers tuning in for the second successive year.

Ricky Skerritt, CWI President commented: "Increasing the opportunities for West Indian women and girls to get involved in cricket is one of CWI's strategic priorities, and we are delighted that we have been able to partner with CPL to further the expansion plans that we had first unveiled in 2019 prior to the arrival of the Covid Pandemic.

“We are confident that all CPL women's games will be highly competitive and will add quality entertainment to our fans in the region and around the world."

CPL will be played across more countries this year, with three Caribbean nations being selected for the group stages and the fourth venue being chosen for the finals.

CPL anticipates that this four-venue structure could become the norm for future seasons.

CWI has confirmed that a window has been created in an otherwise very busy international schedule so that all selected West Indies players will be available for this year's Men's and Women's CPL tournaments.

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots are the defending champions as they had beaten St Lucia Kings in the CPL 2021 final. It was the maiden CPL title for the Patriots.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Tuesday, March 15, 2022, 9:07 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 15, 2022