Home » Cricket » News »Cricket All Stars: Warne's Warriors complete 3-0 clean sweep over Sachin's Blasters

Cricket All Stars: Warne's Warriors complete 3-0 clean sweep over Sachin's Blasters

Posted By:

Los Angeles, Nov 14: Warne's Warriors completed a 3-0 clean sweep over Sachin's Blasters in the Cricket All Stars series here on Saturday (November 14).

All Stars guide; Full list of players

In the third and final game today, Warriors defeated Blasters by 4 wickets in a last-over thriller at the Dodger Stadium.

Warne (left) and Tendulkar in front of the trophy

Captain Shane Warne sealed the match with a six off the penultimate ball of the contest from Virender Sehwag.

Chasing 220 to win, Warriors were helped by a string of 40s by Jacques Kallis (47, 23 balls, 4x4, 4x6), Ricky Ponting 43 not out (25 balls, 3x4, 2x6) and Kumar Sangakkara 42 (21 balls, 4x4, 3x6).

The 88-run parnterhsip between Kallis and Ponting for the 6th wicket turned out to be decisive.

New ball bowlers Curtly Ambrose and Glenn McGrath were expensive. The West Indian paceman was hit for 45 in his 3 overs while the Australian legend leaked 47 in his 3.

Ambose had a dream start, bowling out Michael Vaughan off the first ball of Warriors' run chase but there was nothing much to cheer later.

Earlier, skipper Sachin Tendulkar top-scored with 56 off 27 balls with 2 fours and 6 sixes. Sourav Ganguly, batting at 4, scored 50 (37 balls, 3x3, 3x6).

Left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori of New Zealand was the top wicket-taker for Warriors with 3/33 in 4 overs.

Cricket All Stars, conceptualised by Tendulkar and Warne, was in its inaugural year and was played in New York, Houston and Los Angeles.

Scores in brief

Sachin's Blasters 219/5 in 20 overs

(Sachin Tendulkar 56, Sourav Ganguly 50, Mahela Jayawardene 41, Carl Hooper 33, Virender Sehwag 27, Daniel Vettori 3/33)

Warne's Warriors 224/6 in 19.5 overs

(Jacques Kallis 47, Ricky Ponting 43 not out, Kumar Sangakkara 42, Andrew Symonds 31, Graeme Swann 2/21)

Series result: Warriors won 3-0

All results

Game 1 - Warriors won by 6 wickets (Report)

Game 2 - Warriors won by 57 runs (Report)

Game 3 - Warriors won by 4 wickets

OneIndia News

Story first published: Sunday, November 15, 2015, 11:41 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 15, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...