Home » Cricket » News »Full schedule of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2016 (September 17 to October 2)

Full schedule of Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2016 (September 17 to October 2)

Bengaluru, Sep 2: The first phase of KSCA's 5th edition of T20 cricket tournament, the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) scheduled to be held in Mysuru from Friday, September 16, has been shifted to Hubballi owing to the unpleasant prevailing conditions in certain parts of the state.

Full list of players sold; Retained players' list

Due to the unavoidable situation (due to Cauvery water crisis), the KPL Governing Council which met on Tuesday (September 13) noon decided to swap the phases between the two cities, Mysuru and Hubballi. Thus the first phase matches will now be held at the KSCA Stadium in Rajnagar, Hubballi.

KPL 2015 champions - Bijapur Bulls

Consequent to the swapping of phases, the tournament will commence a day later, on September 17, 2016. The Hubballi leg will end on September 26. Following a day of rest the second and final phase will be staged in Mysuru from September 28 to October 2. This has caused the dates of the matches to be shifted by a day, with the resultant changes in schedule as well.

Thus, as per the revised schedule, Namma Shvamogga are now slated to play the tournament opener against home team Hubli Tigers in a morning match on Saturday.

Three matches are planned for the opening day, with champions Bijapur Bulls playing the marquee match under lights against Belagavi Panthers. Barring Saturdays, there would be two matches a day on all days in the league phase.

The first match would start at 1.30 p.m. and the second match, to be played under lights, would start at 5.30 p.m. Saturdays have an additional match, at 9.30 a.m.

The final is to be staged under lights on Sunday, October 2 in Mysuru.

All matches of KPL 2016 will be telecast live on Sony ESPN SD and Sony ESPN HD Channels.

Note: The KPL Governing Council at its meeting in Bengaluru on Thursday (September 22) took stock of the uneasy situation in Mysuru Zone and also the excellent work thus far of the Hubli cricket administration. Despite rains and inclement weather the local authorities have ensured that almost all the matches have been played to a finish. Thus the GC decided to continue the tournament at the same venue. The tournament ends on October 2.

Here is the full schedule of KPL 2016 (Revised fixtures) - ALL MATCHES IN HUBBALLI. Second leg venue read as Hubballi instead of Mysuru.

First leg in Hubli
2nd and final leg will also be held in Hubballi

OneIndia News

Story first published: Friday, September 2, 2016, 17:27 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 2, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...