Home » Cricket » News » Goa to clash against Jammu

Goa to clash against Jammu

Margao, Nov 9 (UNI) Goa would be looking to use home advantage to garner full points when they clash against Jammu and Kashmir in the four-day Ranji Trophy Plate 'A' group cricket match here at the MCC ground from tomorrow.

Both the teams seem to be equally matched in batting as well as bowling department and are tied with one points each from the first drawn matches. Goa drew against Kerala, while Jammu&Kashimar drew against Jharkahnd. As both are in need of points, the match is expected to be a keen contest.

The confident looking host Coach Dodda Ganesh said ''We are going to play tomorrow with a positive frame of mind''. He expressed satisfaction about his teams talented batsman captain Swapnil Asnodkar, Ajay Ratra who scored century and Sagun Kamat for his fine half century. He also praised his bowlers left arm spinner Shadab Jakati, who claimed four wickets and medium pacer Saurab Bandekar.

Santosh Shinde, who claimed three wickets conceding 49 runs, was replaced by all rounder Robin D'souza.

''Apart from good batting line up, we have also to improve our bowling and fielding'', the coach added.

Jammu and Kashmir team Manager Hardev Singh, after the net practice, expressd cautious optimism about the outcome of the match. ''I am sure my boys will put up better show as the contest is going to be very keen as Goa has very good batting line up which includes three professionals'', he said.

He said his squad is also well balanced both in bowling and batting line up, with the team captain Shafiq Khan and Manoj Joglekar team strengthening the batting line up and both had performed well in the match against Jharkhand.

Bowling department is also looking sound. medium pacer Samiulha Beg, Vijay Sharma and off spinner Samir Khajuria had bowled to the plan and also claimed wickets. Pranav Mahajan and Reman Dutta are other bowlers in the team.

He said wicket is very good and it is a batting paradise.

Goa team: Swapnil Asnodkar( Captain), Sagun Kamat, J Arun Kumar, Ambey Parvatkar, Ajay Ratra, Shadab Jakati, Sher Bahadur Yadav, Ryan D Souza, Advit Katkar, Robin D souza, Aniket Desai, Sahil Dhuri, Ryan Ninan and Saurab Bandekar.

Jammu&Kashmir: Shafiq Khan( Captain), Javedh Ahmad, Samiulha Beg, Harshad Bhat, Irshad Hussain, Manoj Joglekar, Ahmed Nizam, Mohaddin Iqbal, Aditya Prakash Singh, Varun Kumar, Samir Khajuria, Pranav Mahajan, Raman Datta, Vijay Sharma, Kavaljit Singh, Fayaz Owaid.


Story first published: Sunday, November 9, 2008, 20:34 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 9, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...