Goa to clash against Madhaya Pradesh in Ranji tie tomorrow

Panaji, Nov 22 (UNI) Buoyed by their brilliant performance against star-studded Haryana and Railways at home, Goa is looking for a win this time against table toppers Madhya Pradesh in the four-day Ranji Plate ''B'' cricket match to be played at the MCC stadium in South Goa from tomorrow.

Madhya Pradesh is presently topping the table with 10 points from two wins against Jharkhand and Jammu&Kashmir. Host Goa is placed second with 8 points with equal number of matches with a win against Haryana and a first innings lead against Railways in the drawn tie.

Host Captain J Arun Kumar said that win is a must for his team and he would prefer the batting strip out of the two strips at MCC stadium as his team boasted strong batting line up with opener Swapnil Asnodkar, who had scored 254 runs against Railways in the last match.

Sagun Kamat, Captain J Arun Kumar, Ajay Ratra, Rohit Asnodkar, Manoj Joglekar and all rounder Robin D'Souza also made some hard hitting with significant contribution. Goa bowling department also looks sound with medium pacer Harshad Gadekar, Saurab Bandekar and Robin D'Souza. The spin department is safe in the hands of Aditya Angle and Shadab Jakati. The latter had claimed ten wickets againt Haryana.

Goa Cricket Association (GCA) secretary Chetan Desai, who is also a team selection convenor, said looking at the performance of Goa team in the last two matches, the selection committee has retained the same 14 members for the third match against MP as the combination of the team was clicking well.

The Madhya Pradesh team on the other hand will pose a great challenge for the host with equally good batting and bowling line-ups. With medium pacers Anand Rajan, Shantanu Pitre and assisted by Asif Ali and Sunil Dolpure, the visitors can create problem for the star studded batting line-up of Goa. Anand Rajan and Shantanu Pitre have six wickets to their credit from both the matches that they have played so far. It may also be recalled that Anand Rajan played for the India Under-19 team and Australian Centre of Excellence this year.

The batting line up of the visitors also has remarkable names in the form of Devendra Bundela, wicketkeeper-batsman Naman Ojha, Captain Brigesh Tomar, Rahul Bhakshi and Jatin Saxena. Both Devendra Bhundela and Naman Ojha are former Indian cricket players.

The team: Madya Pradesh: Brijesh Tomar (captain), Naman Ojha (wk), Devendra Bundela, Zafar Ali, Murtaza Ali, Sanjay Pandey, Rahul Bakshi, Shantanu Pitre, Anand Rajan, Ashutosh Jadhav, Asif Ali, Jatin Sexena, Jalaj Saxena, Sunil Dholpure. Coach; Amitabh Vijayvergiya.

Goa: Arun Kumar( Captain), Swapnil Asnodkar, Rohit Asnodkar, Sagun Kamat, Manoj Joglekar, Ajay Ratra, Saurab Bandekar, Robin D Souza, Shadab Jakati, Aditya Angle, Harshad Gadekar, Ryan D Souza, Anikeet Desai and Sahil Dhuri.


Story first published: Thursday, November 22, 2007, 15:49 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 22, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...