Ian's ton rescues J

Jammu, Nov 15 (UNI) A consistent batting performance with outstanding knock of 104 runs by youngster Ian Dev Singh, rescued Jammu and Kashmir against Madhya Pradesh medium pacers as the hosts were at 230 for five in 85 overs when the umpires signaled bad light at the close of first day's play of the First Class Ranji Trophy Plate Group-B match being played here.

Ian Dev Singh, who opened with Sajjad Shiekh, played a different ball game. The junior smashed all the way to the park and piled up his 104 runs off 175 deliveries with 17 shots to the fence.

Earlier, visitors Madhya Pradesh won the toss and put Jammu and Kashmir to bat first. However, Sajjad Shiekh was the first victim of Jammu and Kashmir when he was caught for naught at the slip by Murtaza Ali on a quicker one from a new ball bowler Shantanu Pitre.

Ian Dev was later joined by right hand batsman Hardeep Singh, who also failed to adjust his feet at the crease and he was forced to go at back-foot by Shantanu Pitre for leg before and he has to return to the pavilion for a single.

Vice-captain Majid Dar replaced Hardeep Singh and the duo stabilized the hosts's innings for the fourth wicket partnership.

Ian Dev Singh, who batted for 248 minutes, failed to judge a seamer from Sunil Dholpur and he got bowled.

Sarabjeet Singh, who was representing Jammu and Kashmir after a long gap, had just attempted to stay at the crease but he got run out by Shantantu Pitre while trying to take a single for a personal score of 25 off 65, which included three boundaries.

Inderjeet Singh was the fifth victim of J&K, who was sent back by MP pacer Anand Rajan on leg before for 3 (18).

J&K Skipper Vijay Sharma joined Majid Dar at the crease and the duo was in good touch with the bat. Majid Dar was at 62 off 241 deliveries (4x4) and supporting Vijay Sharma made three from 19 balls at the close of first day's play when batsmen appealed for bad light and the umpires signaled for the close of the play.

Madhya Pradesh pacer Shantanu Pitre bowled successful opening spells with two immediate wickets in his hand while Anand Rajan and Sunil Dholpure shared one wicket each.

Scoreboard: MP won the toss and elected to field.

Jammu and Kashmir : 1st inning: 230/5/85 Ian Dev Singh b Sunil Dholpure 104 Sajjad Shiekh c Murtaza Ali b Shantanu Pitre 0 Hardeep Singh LBW Shantanu Pitre 01 Majid Dar batting 62 Sarabjeet Singh run out 25 Indeerjeet Singh LBW Anand Rajan 03 Vijay Sharma batting 03 Extras 32 Total (in 85 overs) Madhya Pradesh: (Bowling): Shantanu Pitre 13-4-45-2, Anand Rajan 19.3-4-60-1, Sunil Dholpure 14-3-28-1, Devendra Bundela 6-2-9-0, Asif Ali 16-4-41-0, Murtaza Ali 4-0-12-0, Jilaz Sexsena 13-2-23-0.


Story first published: Thursday, November 15, 2007, 20:07 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 15, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel