Bengaluru, Dec 1: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today (December 1) admitted that the third umpire made an error in ruling Australian batsman Nathan Lyon not out during the day-night Test against New Zealand at the Adelaide Oval.
In the first-ever day-night Test (3rd of the series) between Australia and New Zealand, there was controversy after Lyon was given not out by the third umpire Nigel Long of England following the use of Decision Review System (DRS).
During the 2nd day of the match (Saturday November 28), the on-field umpire S Ravi of India ruled Lyon not out following an appeal for a catch to slip off left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner.
Kiwi captain Brendon McCullum went for the review and after watching several replays Llong upheld the on-field decision. Lyon had started walking off the ground thinking he was out but it was not to be, thanks to the TV umpire's error.
However, replays showed that Lyon the edged the ball while attempting a sweep shot. The "Hot Spot" thermal imaging confirmed a mark on the back of the righ-hander's bat but the umpire failed to notice it.
Today, ICC said on its Twitter account that it had replied to the Kiwis. "ICC has replied to correspondence from NZC (New Zealand Cricket) relating to the Nathan Lyon DRS review in the 3rd Test.
"ICC has reviewed the decision and acknowledged that it was incorrect. ICC confirms the umpire followed the correct protocol, but made an incorrect judgment," ICC wrote in 3 Tweets on Tuesday.
When DRS was used against Lyon in the 1st innings, he was on 0. Capitalising on that reprieve, he went on to score 34. At the time, Australia were 118/8 and they finished with 224 all out, a lead of 22. The hosts successfully chased 187 to claim the 3-match series 2-0.
(1 of 3): ICC has replied to correspondence from NZC relating to the Nathan Lyon DRS review in the 3rd Test.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015
(2 of 3): ICC has reviewed the decision and acknowledged that it was incorrect.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015
(3 of 3): ICC confirms the umpire followed the correct protocol, but made an incorrect judgment.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015