Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

ICC election: Greg Barclay elected chairman, pips Imran Khawaja to top post

Greg Barclay elected ICC chairman

Dubai, November 25: Greg Barclay on Tuesday (November 24) has been elected as the new Independent Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC). He succeeds Shashank Manohar who stepped down earlier this year.

Barclay, an Auckland-based commercial lawyer, has been a director of New Zealand Cricket (NZC) since 2012 and is currently NZC's representative on the board of the International Cricket Council. He will step down from his position at NZC to lead the ICC in an independent capacity.

He was a director of ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2015 and is a former board member and chairman of the Northern Districts Cricket Association. Greg is also an experienced company director holding board positions with various New Zealand and Australian companies.

Commenting on his appointment Barclay said: "It is an honour to be elected as the Chair of the International Cricket Council and I would like to thank my fellow ICC Directors for their support. I hope we can come together to lead the sport and emerge from the global pandemic in a strong position and poised for growth.

"I look forward to working in partnership with our Members to strengthen the game in our core markets as well as grow it beyond that ensuring more of the world can enjoy cricket. I take my position as a custodian of the game very seriously and am committed to working on behalf of all 104 ICC Members to create a sustainable future for our sport.

"I'd like to thank Imran Khwaja for his leadership as acting ICC Chair during a difficult period for the game and I look forward to continuing a close working relationship with him in the future."

Khawja was appointed the interim ICC chief after Manohar demitted his office and he was also in race for the top post. In fact, it required two rounds of voting to elect the new chairman.

In the first round, Barclay had the upper hand over Khawaja after a 10-6 verdict but another round of voting was initiated because the ICC rules stipulate that a candidate should have 11 votes of the 16-member ICC Board to get two-third majority and get elected as chairman.

Barclay, who enjoyed the support of BCCI, ECB, CA, secured the all-important 11th vote on Tuesday as Cricket South Africa voted for him.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Wednesday, November 25, 2020, 7:33 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 25, 2020