Home » Cricket » News » ICC names Lloyd as Gavaskar's successor

ICC names Lloyd as Gavaskar's successor

Dubai, Jul 4 (UNI) Legendary former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd was today named to succeed Sunil Gavaskar as the new chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.

Lloyd was selected by the ICC Board ahead of former Pakistan captain Majid Khan who was the other nominee for the post.

According to sources, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) withdrew Majid's nomination after he launched a scathing attack on the PCB, for sacking senior official Saleem Altaf and its alleged failure to run the game properly.

Majid also called for the public accounts committee of the National Assembly to probe the financial affairs of the board and blamed it for the increasing indiscipline among the players.

Meanwhile, Michael Beloff was granted another term as Chairman of the ICC Code of Conduct Commission.


Story first published: Friday, July 4, 2008, 14:10 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 4, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...