Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: India face Australia, England in warm-up matches; Details

Virat Kohli

New Delhi, September 18: Before kickstarting their campaign in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 against arch-rivals Pakistan, Virat Kohli-led India would square off against England and Australia in warm-up games.

The match against England would take place on October 18 while the game against Australia would go ahead on October 20.

"Yes, India will lock horns against England and Australia in warm-up games and they will be telecast on Star," a source told ANI.

On September 8, the Indian national selectors had picked the squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup to be hosted in UAE and Oman. In a surprise move, R Ashwin was included in the team. He had last played a T20I against West Indies in July 2017.

Yuzvendra Chahal missed out while former India skipper MS Dhoni will be the mentor of the team. While the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has the hosting rights, the tournament has been moved out of the country with an eye on the COVID19 pandemic.

India and Pakistan will be locking horns on October 24 in a group-stage encounter. The tournament will get underway from October 17, with the final to be played in Dubai on November 14.

The tournament will begin with the Round 1 Group B encounter between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea on October 17, with Scotland and Bangladesh, the other teams in Group B, clashing in the evening match.

Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, and Namibia -- making up Group A -- will be in action in Abu Dhabi the next day, with Round 1 matches running till October 22.

The top two teams in each group will proceed to the Super 12 stage of the tournament, beginning on October 23. The second round of the tournament -- the Super12 stage -- will get underway in Abu Dhabi on October 23, with the Group 1 contest between Australia and South Africa.

This will be followed up with an evening clash between England and West Indies in Dubai. Old rivals England and Australia will lock horns in Dubai on October 30.

It will conclude on November 6 with matches between Australia and West Indies in Abu Dhabi, and England and South Africa in Sharjah. Group 2 will commence with a heavyweight clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai on October 24.

Pakistan then take on New Zealand in Sharjah on October 26, in a tough start for the 2009 champions. Afghanistan begin their campaign on October 25 at Sharjah, taking on the winners of Group B from the first round.

It will conclude on November 8, with India taking on the second-placed Round 1 qualifier from Group A. The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10.

The second semifinal will be hosted by Dubai on November 11. Both semi-finals have reserve days. The marquee clash of the tournament will take place in Dubai on November 14, Sunday, with Monday acting as the reserve day for the final.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 Predictions
Match 5 - October 19 2021, 03:30 PM
Papua New Guinea
Predict Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Saturday, September 18, 2021, 15:31 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 18, 2021