Home » Cricket » News »ICC centenary medals presented to six Australia volunteers

ICC centenary medals presented to six Australia volunteers

Posted By: Staff

Brisbane (Australia), Nov.27 (ANI): Cricket Australia has become the latest country to honour its volunteers when it presented ICC centenary medals to its six volunteers before the start of the second day's play in the first cricket Test between Australia and the West Indies in Brisbane on Friday.

Cricket Australia Chairman and ICC Director Jack Clarke presented the six Queensland-based volunteers with medals while the remaining 44 volunteers will be honoured during the season.

The medals are an expression of gratitude for the unsung work of those volunteers who ensure cricket is a great sport with a great spirit.

The ICC has struck 1000 medals and asked all 104 of its Members to use them to recognise the contribution of volunteers who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the game and have gone beyond the call of duty in the name of cricket.

Clarke paid tribute to the six recipients and the other 44 volunteers who will be recognised throughout the season: "Volunteers are the lifeblood of our sport and it is wonderful that the ICC have chosen to highlight their contribution through the ICC centenary medal," he said.

"Not only is this recognition for the 50 worthy winners of the medal nationally, but recognition for the thousands upon thousands of volunteers who contribute to making cricket Australia's favourite sport."

The first six ICC centenary medal recipients announced by Cricket Australia are:

Rodney Hammel: The Alberton farmer has been involved with cricket in his local area for more than 45 years, first as a player where he was a A-grade player for Alberton Cricket Club as a 14-year-old, and then as an administrator. Since taking over as president of Beenleigh/Logan Cricket Club in 1987, he has been the consummate all-rounder, serving as curator, canteen attendant, coach, media contact and fill-in scorer. He is also heavily involved with the Chamber of Commerce for Beenleigh and Yatala.

Ray Haylock: Another of regional cricket's most dedicated volunteers with more than 50 years of service, Ray Haylock is synonymous with Bundaberg cricket, after learning his cricket in the town of Gin Gin before the club became part of the Bundaberg association. After a lengthy playing career, Ray has served as a selector, an umpire and was vice-president between 1979 and 1990 and president from 1990 to 1999. After retiring from that role, he has continued to work as a volunteer curator and also club treasurer.

Loretta Moore: The first female Life Member of Queensland Cricket, Loretta Moore became involved with cricket as a teenager in Charleville. She went on to play a significant role in building women's cricket in Queensland, including the foundation of the Western Suburbs team in 1976. She played and umpired and became a State selector in 1990, a role she filled for 18 years, including being chairwoman from 2001.

Peter Easton: Involved with cricket as a volunteer continually for more than 55 years, he is a life member of the Valley District CC. The club play out of the Peter Easton Oval at Ashgrove and Easton, who played one Sheffield Shield game in 1959, continues his involvement today with the club. A Queensland Cricket life member and a long serving board member of QC.

James Geiger: One of Gympie cricket's most enduring servants, Jim Geiger has been involved since 1948 with the Western Districts club as either a player or an administrator. As a player, he had a highest score of 259 not out for Wests, and as an administrator, he achieved a similar milestone, serving as president of the club for 50 years. He has been heavily involved with Gympie Cricket Association and Gympie Juniors during that period as well as serving with Queensland Country Cricket.

Christine Brierley: Now a Queensland resident, Christine was a player with New South Wales before a long volunteer administrative career. A President of the NSW Women's Cricket Association, Manager of the Australian Women's team from 1990-1994 and eight years on the Australian Women's Cricket Board, but perhaps her most lasting contribution was as the last President of the International Women's Cricket Council (from 2000-2003), where she was instrumental in bringing women's cricket under the ICC umbrella in 2003.

Nominations for the 50 Australia ICC centenary medals were gathered from across Australia cricket and aim to recognise volunteers who have made a significant contribution to cricket both past and present, from the grassroots levels up to those volunteers involved with the elite cricket. (ANI)

Story first published: Friday, November 27, 2009, 13:24 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 27, 2009
Please Wait while comments are loading...