Home » Cricket » News » ICL 20s Grand Championship to get underway from March 9

ICL 20s Grand Championship to get underway from March 9

New Delhi, Feb 29 (UNI) The Indian Cricket League (ICL) today announced the 'ICL 20s Grand Championship' which will be held from March 9 to April 7.

The tournament, to be held in Hyderabad, Chandigarh (Panchkula) and Gurgaon, will feature eight teams - Chennai Superstars, Delhi Giants, Mumbai Champs, Hyderabad Heroes, Kolkata Tigers, Chandigarh Lions, Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs.

''Our first two tournaments have produced some high quality cricket. We are delighted to have added a new impressive player base which includes some quality fast bowlers, crafty spinners and explosive batsmen,'' ICL Executive Board Chairman Kapil Dev said. ''Their participation in the league will provide the younger generation of cricketers valuable insights which will help them with their game.

''Personally, I am happy to see Pakistan being represented by the Lahore Badshah. We all have some great cricketing moments playing with them and I would like to see history repeat itself in the ICL.'' The championship will have a total of 34 matches. Each team will play against each other once in the league format, which will be followed by the semi-finals, third position classification match and the best of three finals.


Story first published: Friday, February 29, 2008, 18:10 [IST]
Other articles published on Feb 29, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...