Home » Cricket » News » ICL announces the team composition for 'ICL 20's World Series'

ICL announces the team composition for 'ICL 20's World Series'

Mumbai, Nov 19 (UNI) ICL, the Indian Cricket League, today announced its team composition for the ICL 20s World Series that kick starts from November 23.

The tournament features four teams to take on each other, once in a round robin format, followed by a final between the two top standing teams, a release issued here today stated.

Inzaman-ul-Haq will lead the formidable ICL Pakistani team, while Chris Harris will lead a galaxy of international stalwarts representing ICL World, Habibul Bashar will lead the ICL Bangladesh and R Sathish will lead the young talented ICL India. This premium ICL tournament features the top performing players from a talent pool of over 150 domestic and international players, in the recently concluded ICL 20s Indian Championship.

Throwing further light on the tournament and selection process, ICL Executive Board Member, Kiran More said, ''The ICL 20s World Series was conceptualized in ICL season-1, with the primary objective of giving exposure to our domestic talent to the next level of international competition.'' The tournament offers a prize money corpus of Rs 2.74 crore.

Winners of this tournament stand to gain Rs 1.25 crore and Runner-up will cash in Rs 75 lakh. The financial incentive for every win at the league stage will be a handsome Rs 10 lakh while the Man of the Match will cash in Rs 2 lakh. The centre of action for the ICL 20s World Series will be ICL's sparkling new facility, Sardar Patel Stadium, Navrangpura, Ahmedabad, the release added.


Story first published: Thursday, November 20, 2008, 2:32 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 20, 2008
Please Wait while comments are loading...