ICL unveils 20-20 Championship Trophy

Chandigarh, Nov 29 (UNI) The Indian Cricket League today unveiled the 24 inch tall gold and silver 20-20 Championship trophy embellished with traditional 'Meenakari' to capture the essence of the game.

All six team captains -- Brian Lara, Marvan Atapattu, Stuart Law, Inzamam ul Haq, Chris Cairns and Craig Mcmillan -- unveiled the trophy together at a press conference organised here.

Ashish Kaul, Executive Vice President, Essel Group which has floated the ICL, described the trophy, designed by Amit Pabuwal, famous trophy maker along with his wife Kiran Pabuwal, as a symbol of vibrancy, freshness and new flavour, which have been added with the newly introduced 20-20 game.

''It is a brilliant piece of work in tandem with our endeavour to provide the best to the game of cricket, '' he said.

Elaborating on the design of the trophy, Amit Pabuwal said, ''The three cones represent three key aspects of cricket i.e. Batting, Bowling and Fielding, three results of the game Win, Lose and Tie and three types of players in the game Batsman, Bowler and Fielder.'' Pabuwal has made the Friendship cup, ICC Twenty 20 World Cup, Future Cup ( India vs Australia) both one day and 20-20 trophies, Future Cup (India vs South Africa) , Indianoil Cup India vs Pak One Day International and Indianoil cup India vs Pak Test series.


Story first published: Friday, November 30, 2007, 0:26 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 30, 2007
Please Wait while comments are loading...