India to tour Australia in January 2016; Here is the full schedule

Posted By:

Melbourne, July 9: India will travel to Australia next year to play 5 One Day Internationals and 3 Twenty20 Internationals, Cricket Australia (CA) announced today while releasing the schedule for 2015-16 home season. The matches will be played between January 12 and 31, 2016.

Who is Barinder Sran?

"ICC Cricket World Cup semi-finalist India will travel to Australia in January (2016) for the five-match Victoria Bitter Series of One-Day Internationals and three KFC T20 Internationals," CA said in a media release on Thursday.

India to tour Australia in January 2016; Here is the full schedule

"Five matches to be played in January between two powerhouses of world cricket. The ODI format has never been bigger following the World Cup, many Aussie and Indian fans expected to fill the stadiums to see these two teams compete.

"The T20 match-up with India includes an Australia Day (January 26) fixture at the Adelaide Oval and the format's return to the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) as part of a new-seven year agreement between Cricket Australia, Cricket NSW and the SCG Trust that will see the SCG play host to all international cricket in NSW from this summer," it added.

CA's Executive General Manager of Operations Mike McKenna said: "These teams met in the semi-final of the World Cup in a match which saw more than 300 million fans watching on Star TV in India, and we want to continue to build a strong rivalry which will be on show throughout the summer."

The T20I series will act as an ideal preparation for ICC World Twenty20 2016 which will be held in India from March 11.

India had travelled to Australia in November 2014 for 4 Tests and had also played in a tri-series involving hosts and England before the ICC World Cup 2015 earlier this year. India lost the Test series and failed to make the final of tri-series. They did not win a single match during the tour, for the first time in 47 years.

India's tour of Australia schedule

1st ODI: January 12 (Tuesday) , Perth (WACA) 8.50 AM IST

2nd ODI: January 15 (Friday), Brisbane (Gabba) 8.50 AM IST

3rd ODI: January 17 (Sunday), Melbourne (MCG) 8.50 AM IST

4th ODI: January 20 (Wednesday), Canberra (Manuka Oval) 8.50 AM IST

5th ODI: January 23 (Saturday), Sydney (SCG) 8.50 AM IST

1st T20: January 26 (Tuesday), Adelaide (Adelaide Oval) 1.08 PM IST

2nd T20: January 29 (Friday), MCG 2.08 PM IST

3rd T20: January 31 (Sunday), SCG 2.08 PM IST

All matches LIVE on Star Sports network

OneIndia News

Story first published: Thursday, July 9, 2015, 12:21 [IST]
Other articles published on Jul 9, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...