IPL 2015: No team gets to 20 points, 2nd time in IPL history

Posted By:

Bengaluru, May 13: Delhi Daredevils' surprising 6-wicket win over table-toppers Chennai Super Kings (CSK) ensured that no team will get to 20 points in the Indian Premier League 2015 (IPL 8). The CSK, who are on 16 points now, have one game left and a win will take them to 18 at the most.

IPL Special; Points Table; Fixtures; CSK stunned by DD

Defenders Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are at 15 points now with two games to go and if they win both, they will reach 19. Roral Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have 13 points from 11 games and win in remaining three games will take them to 19 as well.


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have 14 points from 12 games and if they don't lose the remaining two matches, they will also end up with 18 points.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Mumbai Indians (MI), the other two teams in the run for the play-offs, can finish with 16 points at the most.

It is interesting to note that no team has officially confirmed a place in the play-offs of IPL 8 even after 49 matches. The CSK and KKR can be said to be through but their positions are yet to be confirmed.

This is also the second time that no team will be able to reach 20 points in the IPL. In 2011, table-toppers RCB had finished with 19 points, followed by the CSK (18 points), MI (18 points) and KKR (16 points).

Here is where the toppers finished in the other six editions of the IPL:

  • IPL 2008: RR (22 points)
  • IPL 2009: Delhi Daredevils (DD) (20 points)
  • IPL 2010: MI (20 points)
  • IPL 2012: DD (22 points)
  • IPL 2013: CSK (22 points)
  • IPL 2014: Kings XI Punjab (22 points)

Oneindia News

Story first published: Wednesday, May 13, 2015, 11:09 [IST]
Other articles published on May 13, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...