Home » Cricket » News »IPL 2015: RCB thrash RR by 9 wickets to pick up their 2nd win

IPL 2015: RCB thrash RR by 9 wickets to pick up their 2nd win

Posted By:

Ahmedabad, April 24: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) thrashed Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 9 wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match at Sardar Patel Satdium in Motera here on Friday.

Captain Virat Kohli (62 not out) scored his second successive half-century to give his team a all-needed victory. He put up an unbeaten partnership of 98 runs with AB de Villiers (47 not out). Chris Gayle (20) was the only batsman out for the RCB.

IPL Special; Match Scorecard; Points Table

RCB's Mitchell Starc (3 for 22) was adjudged the man of the match.

The RR, on the other hand, suffered their second consecutive loss on their home ground.

RR lost their way after a good start

Rajasthan Royals (RR) lost their way in the middle overs to finish at 130 for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs in their seventh match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera here on Friday.


RCB bowlers pegged RR back after a brisk start by Watson & Rahane

Openers Shane Watson and Ajinkya Rahane gave the RR a brisk start but they failed to capitalise on the middle overs and were pegged back by some good bowling.

Steven Smith was the highest scorer for the RR with 31 off 27 balls. For the RCB, Harshal Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal took 2 wickets each besides Starc's three.


RR captain Shane Watson and all-rounder Stuart Binny scored 26 and 20, respectively.


Ordinary day for Ajinkya Rahane

Orange cap-holder Ajinkya Rahane had an ordinary day in the office as he could manage only 18 off 12 balls.

Kohli chose to field after winning the toss and his bowlers & fielders backed him perfectly well

Earlier, RCB captain Virat Kohli won the toss and put the RR into bat.

RCB bowlers backed him perfectly well and picked up wickets at regular intervals. The regular fall of wickets never allowed the RR to get away with a big score.

Playing XI:

Rajasthan Royals

Ajinkya Rahane, Shane Watson (C), Steve Smith, Karun Nair, Sanju Samson (W), Stuart Binny, Deepak Hooda, James Faulkner, Chris Morris, Dhawal Kulkarni, Pravin Tambe

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli (C), Dinesh Karthik (W), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, David Wiese, Harshal Patel, Mitchell Starc, Iqbal Abdulla, Yuzvendra Chahal


The RR vs RCB game was the final IPL match to be played in Ahmedabad this season.

Oneindia News

Story first published: Friday, April 24, 2015, 19:12 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 24, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...