Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

IPL 2016: Full list of award winners and major statistics; Virat Kohli stars

Bengaluru, May 29: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli won the Orange Cap honours with a record tally of 973 runs as the curtains came down on the Indian Premier League 2016 (IPL 9) here tonight (May 29) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. (Gambhir targets Kohli after final?)

; Final Match Report; Photos; IPL Special Site

Kohli was yet again in top form in the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) on Sunday night as he smashed a 35-ball 54. However, Kohli, despite his outstanding run in the tournament, ended on the losing side in the title clash.

Virat Kohli scored a record 973 runs

SRH held their nerve in a last-over thriller to edge RCB by 8 runs for their maiden crown. SRH scored 208/7 and kept RCB to 200/7 in the final. (IPL 2015 award winners)

Also read: Twitter reactions to SRH's win

With expectations of a landmark 1,000 runs in the IPL season, Kohli started off well but fell short by 27 runs. He hit a record 4 centuries and 7 fifties in this year's tournament.

Here is the full list of award winners and important statistics from IPL 2016

Champions - Sunrisers Hyderabad. Prize money - Rs 15 crore

Runner-up - Royal Challengers Bangalore. Prize money - Rs 10 crore

Orange Cap (Most runs) - 973 runs (16 innings) - Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Purple Cap (Most wickets) - 23 wickets (17 innings) - Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

Emerging Player - 17 wickets - Mustafizur Rahman (SRH)

Man of the match in final - Ben Cutting (SRH)

Most Sixes in the final - 8 - Chris Gayle (RCB)

Most Valuable Player - Kohli (356.5 points)

Fairplay Award - SRH

Most Sixes - 38 - Kohli

Most Sixes in an innings - 12 - AB de Villiers (RCB Vs Gujarat Lions)

Most Fours - 88 - David Warner (SRH)

Most Fours in an innings - 15 - Quinton de Kock (Delhi Daredevils Vs RCB)

Most Centuries - 4 - Kohli

Most Fifties - 9 - Warner

Fastest Fifty - 17 balls - Chris Morris (Delhi Vs Gujarat Lions) and Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians Vs Kolkata Knight Riders)

Fastest Hundred - 43 balls - De Villiers (RCB Vs Gujarat)

Best Catch - Suresh Raina (Gujarat Lions)

Freecharge Bolt Season Award - De Villiers (19 catches)

Vitara Brezza Glam Shot Award - Warner

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Sunday, May 29, 2016, 23:51 [IST]
Other articles published on May 29, 2016
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more