Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Jagmohan Dalmiya elected BCCI president

Chennai Mar 2: Jagmohan Dalmiya has returned as the president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as he was elected unopposed today for the top post at the Indian cricket board's Annual General Meeting (AGM) here.

Dalmiya replaces N Srinivasan, who was barred from contesting the polls this year by the Supreme Court.

Jagmohan Dalmiya has returned as BCCI president

The 74-year-old Dalmiya makes a return to the top position in BCCI after a gap of over 10 years. According to Press Trust of India (PTI), quoting sources, Dalmiya was the "consensus candidate" for the president's post.

Anurag Thakur defeated Sanjay Patel by 1 vote to be elected BCCI's secretary while Anirudh Choudhary is the new treasurer.

"The 85th Annual General Meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India was held today in Chennai. The elections for the Office-Bearers and the Vice-Presidents took place, and the following were elected," secretary Thakur said in a media release on Monday. "The audited accounts for the FY 2013 - 2014 were approved," he added.

Dalmiya is currently the president of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB). Dalmiya has previously served as BCCI head from 2001 to 2004. He was ICC president from 1997 for a three-year term.

In 2013, he returned as BCCI's interim president after IPL spot-fixing and betting scandal broke out and Srinivasan had to step aside due to his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan's alleged involvement.

Dalmiya was also expelled from BCCI for life and removed from all posts, in 2006 on charges of financial irregularities but was exonerated by the court in 2007. Following that, he returned to head the CAB in 2008.

He had joined BCCI in 1979 and served as its treasurer in 1983. He played a big part in getting the rights of hosting 1987 and 1996 World Cups in Asia.

BCCI Election Results

President - Jagmohan Dalmiya

Secretary - Anurag Thakur

Treasurer - Anirudh Chaudhary

Joint-secretary: Amitabh Choudhary


North Zone: ML Nehru

Central: CK Khanna

West: TC Mathew

East: Gautam Roy

South: Dr. G Gangaraju

OneIndia News

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Monday, March 2, 2015, 11:09 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 2, 2015
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more